Mobil executive named Black Engineer of Year

Caldwell to be feted at conference tonight

Lacy also honored

February 13, 1999|By Shanon D. Murray | Shanon D. Murray,SUN STAFF

Paul L. Caldwell Jr.'s technological achievements have resulted in two patents and corporate posts on four continents. Today, he is being honored as the 1999 Black Engineer of the Year.

Caldwell, chairman and managing director of Mobil Producing Nigeria Inc., an affiliate of Mobil Corp., is to receive the top honor this evening as the 13th annual Black Engineer of the Year Awards Conference ends its three-day run at the Baltimore Convention Center.

Dean's Award: William J. Neal, Ph.D., MITRE Corp.

Lifetime Achievement: Gen. Johnnie E. Wilson, U.S. Army Materiel Command

Affirmative Action: James C. Mitchell, Texas Instruments Inc.

Promotion of Higher Education: Dr. George D. Peterson, Accreditation Board for Engineering & Technology Inc.

Student Leadership: Sabrina N. Williams, Mississippi State University

Community Service: Harry A. Williams III, Boeing Co.

Corporate Promotion of Education: Bess McDowell Stephens, Hewlett-Packard Co.

Technical Sales and Marketing: Douglas R. Batts, Texas Instruments Inc.; James E. Lofton, Electronic Data Systems Corp.

Outstanding Technical Contribution: Michael A. Bradley, Boeing Co.

Visionary Award: Samuel H. Lacy, Afro-American Newspapers

Special Recognition: Russell P. Boddie, TRW Inc.; Annie T. Davis, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers; Delmar S. Dukes, Lockheed Martin Missiles and Space; Kenneth E. Holley, DOE Science & Technology Alliance, Sandia National Laboratories; Walter Gooley Jr., U.S. Army Materiel Command; Allan K. Kennedy, Delphi Automotive Systems; Kevin L. Hinkston, Hewlett-Packard Co.; Thelma G. Myers, Raytheon Systems Co.; Ronald J. Robinson, Electronic Data Systems; Grady Searcy, Electronic Data Systems; Patricia M. Wallace, TRW Inc. Pub Date: 2/13/99

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.