McDonogh makes big splash with water polo title Eagles win second straight Eastern Prep tournament


November 22, 1998|By Katherine Dunn and Lem Satterfield | Katherine Dunn and Lem Satterfield,SUN STAFF

McDonogh's water polo squad, coached by Brent Miller, swept three games to win its second consecutive Eastern Prep School tournament in Lawrenceville, N.J., on Nov. 14.

Junior goalie Ryan Gens, a part-time starter last season, was among four players for the Eagles (20-5) who earned All-Tournament honors in an event comprised of some of the East Coast's top prep programs.

Also earning All-Tournament honors was event MVP Jamie Todes, the top scorer with 13 of the Eagles' 45 goals to go with eight assists, Michael Wheeler and Matt Harrison. Wheeler, a team co-captain, is a senior, and Todes and Harrison are juniors.

Wheeler, a two-time All-American swimmer and multi-event Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association champ, has signed with the University of Virginia for a scholarship.

Co-captain Scott Aszal had five steals over the course of the tournament and scored five of his seven goals in the 16-11 championship game victory over Pennsylvania's Cathedral Prep.

Others on the Eagles' team, which was a combined 9-0 vs. local rivals Gilman, Calvert Hall and Loyola, are seniors Rusty Goldman, Jason Olszweski and Bobby Smith, juniors James Marc and Spencer Lindholm and sophomores Jason Denrich and Paul Winterling.

Lawston on TV

Eastern Tech's highly recruited All-Metro performer Anthony Lawston, ranked No. 6 nationally during the preseason among Division I wide-receiver prospects by The National Recruiting Adviser, will be featured on ESPN's Scholastic Sports America at 3 p.m. Nov. 30.

A B-average student, Lawston (6-foot-4, 215 pounds) has been offered full scholarships to Penn State, Maryland, Georgia Tech, Wisconsin, Wake Forest, West Virginia, Syracuse and Virginia Tech.

Lawston enters next weekend's 3A state title game against Friendly of Prince George's County with career school records in receptions (147), receiving yards (2,930) and receiving touchdowns (24). He also has 19 interceptions over the past two years -- five of them being returned for touchdowns.

With Lawston in the lineup, the Mavericks -- ranked No. 2 in The Sun -- have gone from 1-9 his freshman year, to 7-3 as a sophomore, 9-2 last year and now a school-best 12-0.

City's best

The Baltimore City coaches have named their All-City teams for volleyball and girls soccer.

On the first-team volleyball squad are Jazziel Granada, Selina Gaskins and Keisha Chapman, who led Western to the city title; Isoke DeLeon, Poly; Shelby Myers, City; and Creshenda Williams, Lake Clifton.

Honorable mention went to Ericka Butler, Western; La'Quanda Williams, Poly; Obi Ndadi, Edmondson; and Melanie Eschenbaugh, Patterson.

In girls soccer, Patterson's Melissa Reinhardt was named City Player of the Year, and city champ Western's Paul Plott was named Coach of the Year.

Named to the first team: Susanna Blair, Rosie Hicks and Anne Phillips, City; Reinhardt, Rachel Carrion, Danielle Robinson and Belinda Sufczinski, Patterson; Faustina Dadson, Rebecca Mason, Melinda McLaughlin and Jamaica Wood, Western; and Brandis Matthews, Sherry McKenzie and Heather Myers, Poly.

All-MIAA A picks

Here are the MIAA A Conference coaches' picks for boys soccer: Forwards Randy Tolson, Calvert Hall); Justin Januszkiewicz, Loyola; Bryan Medej, Archbishop Spalding; and Kaiser Chowdhry, McDonogh; midfielders Jon Cole, McDonogh; Marcus Johnson, Loyola; Brandon Quaranta and Brandon Scarfield, Archbishop Curley; defenders Steve Althoff and Steve Novak, Curley; and Vinnie Ciarpella, McDonogh; goalkeeper Devin Spilker, Mount St. Joseph.

Honorable mention selections included strikers Marco Angelini,

Curley; Paul Harris, Mount St. Joseph; and defender Steve Adams, Calvert Hall.

Lacrosse signees

Dulaney's second-team All-Metro defender Josh Tracy has vTC signed to attend Ohio State and midfielder Steve Will will attend North Carolina, both on lacrosse scholarships. The college-bound seniors led the Lions to a Class 3A-4A state runner-up finish last season.

Three girls from the Association of Independent Schools also have signed early to receive lacrosse scholarships:

Elizabeth Ryan, an All-Metro field hockey player, has elected to concentrate on lacrosse at Georgetown. Ryan, who helped the Reds to a 22-0 season and the A Division lacrosse championship last spring, signed earlier this week.

St. Paul's Laura Ciekot has signed with Boston College, and Mount de Sales' Erin Flaherty with Vanderbilt.

Evans earns honor

Hereford graduate Roger Evans, a Lackawana Junior College freshman punter, has been named to the Northeast Conference All-Star team after helping the Falcons win their second straight league title.

One of 11 Lackawana players to make the first-team, Evans (5-10, 198 pounds) was the league's No. 1 punter, averaging 39.1 yards on 26 punts, with a 51-yarder in the season-opener.

Evans, who helped Hereford to win its first state title with a 13-0 record last fall, helped Lackawana to an 8-2 finish.

National champ

Garrison Forest graduate Missy Hopkins, a senior at Middlebury (Vt.) College, helped the Panthers (17-1) to their first NCAA Division III field hockey championship in a 3-2 overtime victory over William Smith on Nov. 15.

Hopkins has been part of the only two national championships won by Middlebury women's teams -- she helped the Panthers win the 1997 lacrosse championship. Named to the All-Tournament Team that year, the defender was a regional All-America pick last year.

Pub Date: 11/22/98

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.