Chuasiriporn leads U.S. women on record romp 65-69 rounds help team win world amateur event

November 17, 1998|By John W. Stewart | John W. Stewart,SUN STAFF

Jenny Chuasiriporn, posting the lowest individual score in tournament history, led the United States team to a record-smashing victory in the 19th Women's World Amateur Team Championship on Sunday at the Prince of Wales Country Club in Santiago, Chile.

The Duke senior from Timonium had rounds of 71-65-69-71276, 12-under par, and seven shots ahead of teammate Kellee Booth. Theirs were the only sub-par totals among the 99 players (representing 33 countries) who played the 6,150-yard course.

Brenda Corrie-Kuehn, the third member of the U.S. team, finished tied for 11th at 293.

The three-player United States team (best two scores to count each day), totaled 18-under-par 558. This was a team record by 11 strokes, and its 21-shot margin over runner-up Germany and Italy eclipsed the former mark by four shots.

Although no individual champion is officially recognized, the 276 by Chuasiriporn, runner-up in the U.S. Women's Open and U.S. Women's Amateur last summer, was two strokes lower than the previous standard of 278 set by one-time Bowie resident Wendy Ward four years ago in France.

"Beyond anything I've played as an individual, the team tournaments are very special, because I like to share in the victory," said Chuasiriporn, also a member of last summer's victorious U.S. Curtis Cup squad.

The United States was in third place (71-72) after the first day, but Chuasiriporn and Corrie-Kuehn shot 65 and 69, respectively, and their 134 broke the single-round record by four shots. The 65 was the low round of the tournament.

For the four days, there were seven rounds in the 60s, and Chuasiriporn was the only player with more than one.

The World Amateur Team Championship for men will be held this weekend in Santiago.

Joel Kribel, Matt Kuchar, Hank Kuehne and Tom McKnight make up the U.S. team (best three of four scores to count each day), captained by Baltimore resident Reg Murphy, a past president of the United States Golf Association.

Barrett qualifies

The recent runner-up finish of Baltimore native Tina Barrett in the Japan Classic earned her the final spot in the 30-player field for this week's LPGA PageNet Tour Championship at the Desert Inn Resort in Las Vegas.

The second-place check for $74,474 catapulted her from 40th to 29th on the money list ($264,739) in the tour's final regular-season event. The move pushed her ahead of Charlotta Sorenstam, now 30th, but Dale Eggling, who had been 30th, remains in the field, as qualifier Tammy Green has withdrawn because of pregnancy.

Ranked No. 1

Bulle Rock Golf Course in Havre de Grace has been accorded the No. 1 position among upscale public courses in the 16th annual course rankings by Golf Digest.

"More than pleased, that's for sure," Rick Rounsaville, the course's director of golf, said of the announcement. "This was built to be a world-class course that people could come and play. That's the way Mr. Abel [owner E. B. Abel Jr.] does things."

That was evidenced, too, by his hiring of Pete Dye to be the course designer. Dye has a world-wide reputation as one of the premier course architects. The 18-hole facility opened for play last March.

The rankings were made after an evaluation of some 700 golfers from May 1, 1997 to April 30, 1998.

Criteria included shot values, design variety, memorability and aesthetics. Additionally, the public courses were judged on their playability.

Rankings for the best new private, upscale public (greens fees in excess of $50) and affordable public courses will be published in the December issue of the magazine.

Vardaman chosen

Jack Vardaman, of Washington, a member of Congressional Country Club, has been nominated to serve a one-year term as general counsel to the executive committee of the USGA.

Pub Date: 11/17/98

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.