Historic Annapolis Foundation


November 15, 1998|By Karin Remesch

Mission: To champion the preservation of Maryland's capital city through museum programs, restoration, public advocacy, research, archaeology, collections, protective easements and conservation of historic sites. The foundation's flagship museum, the William Paca House, is the restored home of William Paca, signer of the Declaration of Independence and Revolutionary-era governor of Maryland.

Latest accomplishment: More than 1,000 people participated in HAF's seventh annual "Annapolis by Candlelight," a two-evening tour of 15 historic private homes and public buildings.

On the horizon: The foundation is developing an educational CD-ROM, "Historic City." The software will be integrated into the curriculum of the third and fourth grades in the Anne Arundel County public schools.

About the foundation:

Membership: 1,200 households. Attendance: 26,000 annually. Operating budget: $1.7 million.

Where and when: The foundation's museum, the William Paca House, is at 186 Prince George St. Hours: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday-Saturday through Feb. 28; 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday-Saturday and noon to 5 p.m. Sunday, March 1 to Oct. 31. Call 410-626-1030.

Brad Davidson, chairman of the board of directors: "HAF wants the world to know how preservation enriches our lives. That is why we are exploring new ways to get our message out to our members, students and visitors. Sponsoring a museum may be one way to do it. Partnering with other like-minded organizations, as we have with the recent Heritage Area project, is another."

Members of the board

Nancy Avallone

Sandy S. Brock

Virginia Clagett

Paul T. Elder

Ann M. Fligsten

Anna E. Greenberg

Robert E. Henel

Sharon A. Kennedy

George W. Liebmann

Eleanor McKay

Christian H. Poindexter

James Roche

S. Stevens Sands Jr.

Ronald Sharps

Pub Date: 11/15/98

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.