Sens. Kittleman and Flanagan ahead Giannetti tops Morgan

Only 1 Howard incumbent not close to re-election

General Assembly

Election 1998

November 04, 1998|By Erika Niedowski | Erika Niedowski,SUN STAFF

Two of the General Assembly's top-ranking Republicans, Minority Leader Robert H. Kittleman and Minority Whip Robert L. Flanagan, appeared headed toward another four years in Annapolis after Howard County polls closed yesterday.

With 28 of 33 precincts reporting, Kittleman and Flanagan each had 38 percent in solidly Republican District 14B in western Howard. Ellicott City Democratic Club President Bill Woodcock, the lone Democrat on the ballot, trailed with 24 percent.

In an apparent upset, Democratic candidate John A. Giannetti Jr. had claimed victory over Republican Del. John S. Morgan in District 13B.

With all nine precincts reporting, Giannetti had 58 percent to Morgan's 42 percent. "I'm feeling real good with my victory," Giannetti said. "This is a good year for Democrats."

In District 12, Democratic Sen. Edward J. Kasemeyer of District 12 was leading David P. Maier, the Republican who came within 2 percentage points of defeating him in 1994, by 57 percent to 43 percent with 22 of 35 precincts reporting.

In District 12B, which takes in west Columbia and the southern part of Ellicott City, Democratic Del. Elizabeth Bobo appeared to have fended off a strong challenge from Republican Todd Arterburn, a golf course developer making his first political run. With nine of 16 precincts reporting, Bobo had 65 percent to Arterburn's 35 percent.

"I'm really proud of the voters in the district that I represent, that they did not fall for a barrage of negative campaigning," said Bobo, the former county executive.

In District 13A in southern Howard, Democratic Dels. Shane Pendergrass and Frank S. Turner were leading Republicans Hans Hans K. Meeder and Michael Grasso in the race for the district's two Assembly seats. With 24 of 30 precincts reporting, Pendergrass led with 31 percent, followed by Turner with 28 percent. Meeder and Grasso both had 20 percent.

Republican state Sens. Martin G. Madden and Christopher J. McCabe also were leading in early returns. Madden, who represents District 13, led Democrat Raymond N. Rankin by 57 percent to 43 percent, with 29 of 39 precincts reporting.

McCabe, of District 14, was leading David S. Hantman 60 percent to 40 percent, with 31 of 43 precincts reporting.

In District 12A, which includes part of eastern Howard, Republican Del. Donald E. Murphy led with 27 percent and Democratic Del. James E. Malone Jr. led with 34 percent, with 10 of 19 precincts reporting, in their re-election bids. Steven J. DeBoy, a Democrat, had 20 percent, and Loyd V. Smith, a Republican, had 18 percent.

Pub Date: 11/04/98

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.