Navy women win title in soccer Patriot League champs post 11th shutout of season

November 01, 1998|By FROM STAFF REPORTS

Michelle Nance scored two goals as Navy defeated Lehigh, 3-0, yesterday to win its first Patriot League title in women's soccer.

Nance scored in the 11th and 79th minutes as the Midshipmen (16-2-1, 5-0-1) recorded their 11th shutout of the season. Sarah Wilson made five saves in goal. Kristen Riismandel's goal at 19: 12 gave Navy a 2-0 lead at halftime.

Robert Morris 2, Mount St. Mary's 1: The Colonials (5-11-2, 3-5) defeated the host Mountaineers (5-11-1, 2-6) on an own goal in the 86th minute in the final Northeast Conference game for both schools.

Mary Washington 1, Salisbury State 0: The host Eagles (16-1-1) clinched the Capital Athletic Conference championship on a goal by Martine St. Germain with just over 10 minutes left in the third overtime.

Men's soccer

Loyola 3, St. Peter's 0: The host Greyhounds (11-7-2, 7-2 Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference) held the Peacocks without a shot to win for the eighth time in 10 games.

Mount St. Mary's 1, Robert Morris 0: Chris Hallatt converted a penalty kick in the 97th minute as the host Mountaineers (8-7-2, 4-3-2 Northeast Conference) won their final regular-season game.

Johns Hopkins 6, Dickinson 0: Matt Doran scored two goals to lead the host and ninth-ranked Blue Jays (15-1-1, 7-0) to a Centennial Conference win.

Salisbury State 2, Washington & Lee 1: Steve Ritchie converted with four seconds left in overtime as the host Sea Gulls (13-3-1) extended their winning streak to eight games and tied the school record for wins.

Field hockey

Salisbury State 3, Mary Washington 2: Megan Hopper scored three times, including the game-winner with 48 seconds left in the second overtime, as the host Sea Gulls (13-5) won their fourth straight Capital Athletic Conference championship.

Pub Date: 11/01/98

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.