Baltimore School for the Arts, Alcazar Gallery


November 01, 1998|By Karin Remesch

Mission: To exhibit the work of students attending the Baltimore School for the Arts and to provide exhibition space for professional artists. The gallery usually features five exhibitions annually - four for students, and one for outside artists. The public high school, located in the former Alcazar Hotel, was founded in 1980 to provide pre-professional training in the arts for city students in addition to academic courses. Other disciplines offered at the school include instrumental music, vocals, dance, drama and stage production.

Latest accomplishment: The gallery was completed renovate within the last year, including new hardwood floors, a state-of-the-art lighting system, and wall resurfacing. Renovations were funded by a state grant.

On the horizon: Presented in collaboration with Baltimor Clayworks and Latino Outreach, "Ceramica Puertorriquena Hoy/Today," an exhibition of about 50 works by 22 Puerto Rican ceramic artists. The show, which features free-standing pieces, functional work and wall pieces in various sizes, opens with a reception from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. Thursday and runs through Dec. 20. And Jan. 8 through March 12, "Winter Celebration," the first juried student exhibition of the school year, will include work by -- students from all levels and classes.

About the gallery: Attendance: 5,000 annually. Operatin budget: $5,000.

Where and when:

712 Cathedral St., with entrance on Madison Street. Hours: 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday, and by appointment Saturday. Also open during performances.

Call 410-396-8401.

Donald N. Rothman, chairman of the board of overseers: "I hav always been interested in public schools, and I find it thrilling what goes on at the Baltimore School for the Arts. It's a role model. ... The students' academic accomplishments are excellent, and the training they receive in the arts is magnificent. The gallery provides a venue for students' work. ... Exhibitions are a real experience for them to have work juried by professionals and viewed by the public."

Members of the board

Constance Caplan

Anthony Carey

James Dale

Samuel G. Gorn

Anthony Hawkins

Daniel P. Henson III

Jennifer Lambdin

Sharon Nevins

George Dalsheimer

Katherine Hardiman

Mark Joseph

Susan B. Katzenberg

Dr. Leslie King-Hammond

Darielle Linehan

Sally Michel

Jon Nehra

Esther Pearlstone

Alan Reisberg

Jan Rivitz

Stanley E. Romanstein

Clair Zamoiski Segal

Carole Sibel

David Simon

C. Van Leuven Stewart

Cheryl Hudgins Williams

Pub Date: 11/01/98

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.