Maryland Institute, College of Art


October 25, 1998|By Karin Remesch

Mission: To educate promising and talented artists and designers and to serve as a cultural resource to the community. The institute's artists-in-residence program, public lectures and extensive exhibition schedule are important components of Baltimore's arts landscape. Exhibition spaces include the Decker Gallery, Mount Royal Station; the Meyerhoff Gallery, Fox Building; and the new Pinkard Gallery, Bunting Center. All exhibitions are open to the public free of charge.

Latest accomplishment: All major galleries are currently dedicated to "20/XX," an invitational exhibition of works by alumni from the last 20 years, which honors Fred Lazarus' 20th anniversary as president of the Maryland Institute. The 20 artists reflect the range and depth of the institute's bachelor's and master's degree programs. The exhibition runs through Nov. 7.

On the horizon: "The Anniversary Residency Series: On Beauty" kicks off Nov. 5 with a presentation by author and philosopher David Abram. Opening Nov. 19 and running through Dec. 13 is the annual faculty exhibition. Painter Yvonne Jacquette will speak on "Painting the Aerial View" at 8 p.m. tomorrow, and graphic designer Chip Kidd will speak on book design at 7 p.m. Wednesday.

About the institute and its galleries: 1,200 undergraduate and graduate students. 3,000 continuing studies students. Operating budget: $25 million. Recent capital campaign raised $23 million.

Where and when: 1300 Mount Royal Ave., Baltimore. Gallery hours: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday-Wednesday and Saturday; 10 a.m. to 9 p.m. Thursday-Friday; noon to 5 p.m. Sunday. Call 410-225-2300.

Fred Lazarus IV, president, on the 20th anniversary celebration: "All of us love what we do year after year for one reason - our students. ... I am continually awed by their creativity, ability and devotion to what they do. The outstanding former students represented in the current exhibition are a great example of what we are all about."

Members of the board of trustees

George L. Bunting Jr.

Charles L. Costa

George H. Dalsheimer

Edwin A. Daniels Jr.

Rosalee Davison

Alonzo G. Decker Jr.

Mathias J. DeVito

Neal M. Friedlander

Ann M. Garfinkle

Dorothy Gillespie

Alice Falvey Greif

Fredye W. Gross

Katharine Gust

Richard C. Hackney Jr.

David Hayden

Barbara L. Himmelreich

LeRoy E. Hoffberger

David Jacobs

L. Robert Johnson

Richard P. Manekin

Richard H. Martin

Neil A. Meyerhoff

John J. Oliver Jr.

Anne S. Perkins

Hope Quackenbush

Howard P. Rawlings

Sheila K. Riggs

Amalie Rothschild

Robert A. Shelton

William O. Steinmetz

Fred. E. Worthington

Pub Date: 10/25/98

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.