Maryland Hall for the Creative Arts

Behind the Scenes

October 18, 1998|By Karin Remesch

Mission: To provide a broad range of creative experiences through quality arts education and culturally diverse programs in the visual and performing arts. Maryland Hall is home to three art galleries - the Cardinal Gallery, the AIR (Artists in Residence) Gallery, and exhibition space in the foyer. The focus is to exhibit artworks from the Mid-Atlantic region, with an emphasis on artists from the immediate area. The Annapolis Symphony Orchestra, the Ballet Theatre of Annapolis, the Annapolis Opera and the Annapolis Chorale also are residents of Maryland Hall.

Latest accomplishment: An exhibition of large-scale oil paintings Frank Wright, a professor at Georgetown University, in the TTC Cardinal Gallery, which closed yesterday. Maryland Hall also recently launched a three-year capital campaign and an endowment fund.

On the horizon: To raise enough money through the capital campaign to renovate the 1930s-era building, a former high school, into the leading creative arts center in the region. Plans include an electrical upgrade and improved handicapped accessibility. Next year, Maryland Hall will celebrate its 20th anniversary.

About Maryland Hall and its galleries: Membership: 3,000. Attendance: 70,000 annually. Operating budget: $1 million.

Where and when: 801 Chase St., Annapolis. Hours: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday-Friday, and until 8:30 p.m. Thursday; 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Saturday. Also open during evening performances.

Dennis G. Younger, president of the board of directors: "I have been with the program since its inception almost 20 years ago, and it's terribly exciting to have witnessed this rather unusual experience become a success. ... If we are successful in our capital campaign, we should be able to meet the needs for building improvement. We are bursting at the seams."

Members of the board

Steven R. Ames

Lee A. Boynton

Cindy Busch

Aileen Carlucci

Lynne Davidson

Charles F. Delavan

Keren Dement

Shelia Finalyson

Anna E. Greenberg

Jan Hardesty

Judi Herrmann

Vincent Iatesta

James T. Jackson Jr.

Charles E. Lamb

Nicholas P. Lambrow

Brian E. Lees

Robert Leib

David R. Lewis

J. Glenn Little II

Nick G. Manis

Tom Marquardt

Booker McManus

Veronica Meneely

John B. Moore

Ellen O. Moyer

William C. Mulford II

Margaret E. F. Overton

Marsha G. Perry

Mary Petersen

Lis Ritter

Michael R. Robyler

William D. Roessler

Paul Rudolph

Diane Sprague

Darius Stanton

Christine Nohealani Walsh

Donald H. Wood

Paul G. Wood

Pub date 10/18/98

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.