Lions Pride to induct 37 into new 'hall' Howard notebook

October 01, 1998|By Rick Belz | Rick Belz,SUN STAFF

Howard High, the county's oldest high school with more than 40 years of excellence in athletics, has announced the inaugural list of inductees into its Lions Pride Hall of Fame.

Thirty-seven inductees will be honored at the school homecoming football game on Oct. 10. An 11 a.m. luncheon will honor them before their induction just before the 1: 30 p.m. kickoff.

The inductees:

Sam Kniesley (Class of 1955). Ed Geisler, Skip Worton and Buck Ash ('59). Mimi Atwell, Diane Schulte and Bob Reid ('63). Ed Kasemeyer, Denny Lanahan and John Merson ('64). George Boteler, George Petrlik and Donna Kolak ('65). John Shaw ('66).

Eric Wilson and Jeff Merson ('71). Steve Brownley ('72). Richard McAuliffe ('73). Elbert Robinson and David Fadrowski ('74). Scott Swope, Wayne Wilson and Dan Hottowe ('75). Kevin Wynne ('76). Mike Miller and John Maddox ('78). Diane Slavintnek ('79).

Jeff Buzzy Miller ('81). Desmond Armstrong ('82). J. B. Marquette, Sam Harris, Marco Kornegay and Laurie Governor (84). Todd Haskins ('89). Steve Sietsema and Joe Wilson ('91). Emily Petrlik ('92).

The selection committee is having difficulty contacting all the selectees. If you know the address of Lanahan, Shaw, Hottowe, Maddox, Armstrong, Harris or Sietsema, please call the school at 410-313-2867.

In future years the school's state championship teams will be honored on their 25th anniversaries.

The first team to be honored in the year 2000 will be the 1974-75 state championship football team.

Zielinski top golfer

Mount Hebron's Scott Zielinski won the Howard County Stroke Play Championship on the third playoff hole at Fairway Hills yesterday.

He and teammate Adam Boarman both shot 75 in regulation play.

The remaining finishers: Matt Greene, River Hill, 80; Ryan Chaney, Howard, 80; Bob Steen, Atholton, 81; Jimmy Evans, Centennial, 85; Pat Shaffer, Centennial, 89; Brent Kennedy, Howard, 89.

The eight participants qualified to play for the championship, because they finished with the best average scores during eight regular-season matches conducted by the Howard County Golf Club, a high school golf league not sanctioned by the Howard County school system.

League participants can qualify for the official Maryland Public Secondary Schools Athletic Association state championship, and 10 players did so during a District V championship on Monday, including teams from Mount Hebron and Centennial.

Mount Hebron finished third and Centennial finished fifth.

Steen won that District V championship by shooting a 74. Atholton's Erin Caffery finished fourth among the girls and qualified for states.


Centennial's Neha Amin finished first among small schools in the girls division of the Bull Run Invitational cross country meet at Hereford Saturday. Her time was 21: 03.

Oakland Mills track and field coach Sam Singleton has been appointed to chair the Maryland Public Secondary Schools Athletic Association's outdoor track and field committee.

Oakland Mills alumnus Tajiri "T.J." Smith is Florida A&M's punter this season. He's a sophomore majoring in computer science.

Pub Date: 10/01/98

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.