Ballet group draws 5 more high-quality dancers

September 17, 1998|By Phil Greenfield | Phil Greenfield,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

The Ballet Theatre of Annapolis continues to attract high-quality dancers to its 1998-1999 roster.

On the heels of news that the local company has secured the services of Zhirou Zou, formerly one of three principal dancers with the National Ballet of China, comes word that five talented American ballerinas also will be making their Maryland Hall debuts with the company this fall. They are Bridget Ansinn, Rachel Fanning, Aimee Litwiller, Heather Merritt and Colleen Potts.

Ansinn, who lives in Doylestown, Pa., has performed with the Dance Theater of Pennsylvania, Dance Elite, Playhouse Dance Theater of Point Park College and the Pennsylvania Ballet

Company. Her training came from Gloria Govrin and the Pennsylvania Ballet School.

Fanning, a resident of Charlottesville, Va., has studied with the .. Washington Ballet, Richmond Ballet and Ballet Hysell of New Orleans.

Litwiller of Baltimore trained at the Virginia School of the Arts and has taught at the Florence Ballet Company in Florence, S.C. She was also a soloist with the Columbia Classical Ballet.

Merritt of Charleston, S.C., earned a degree at the University of Utah, where she was awarded the Olga Alexandria Ballet Scholarship. At Utah, she performed leads in such Stravinsky dance classics as "The Firebird" and "Histoire du Soldat." Her engage- ments include stints at the Charleston Ballet Theater and Ballet II of Atlanta.

Potts of Virginia attended Radford University in her home state and the Loudoun School of Ballet in Leesburg, Va. She has danced with the Columbia City Ballet in South Carolina.

.BTA's heightened artistic profile will be on display at Maryland Hall Oct. 23 and 24, when the company begins its season with "Dracula."

new season, call 410-263-8289.

Pub Date: 9/17/98

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.