Incumbents strong in legislative races Neall takes lead in Senate contest

September 16, 1998|By Tanya Jones | Tanya Jones,SUN STAFF

Anne Arundel voters took to the polls yesterday to select from a healthy mix of incumbents, longtime community activists and political neophytes in primary races for the General Assembly.

With results from 31 percent of the county's 170 precincts, incumbents appeared to be on the way to winning their parties' nominations in all of the contested races. If past primary elections are an indication, fewer than 40 percent of the county's 244,890 registered voters would have gone to the polls by the end of the day.

In the Republican primary for the District 33 Senate seat, incumbent Sen. Robert R. Neall was leading challenger William A. Scott with 64 percent of the vote to Scott's 36 percent. Theirs is the county's only contested Senate race in the primary, and, because no Democrats registered, the outcome of yesterday's vote marks the end of a campaign at a time when others are beginning.

"It doesn't sound very good," Scott said of the incomplete results. Speaking from his Davidsonville home, the retired Army colonel speculated that low voter turnout might have hurt his chances.

Neall, who has substantial name recognition based on three terms in House of Delegates in the 1970s and 1980s and one term as county executive from 1990 to 1994, was the popular choice to complete the unexpired term of Sen. John A. Cade, a longtime legislator from the district and respected Senate leader who died in 1996.

District 33 includes Crofton, Odenton, Gambrills, Davidsonville and Severna Park.

Though only one Senate race drew a primary challenger, several of the House races, in which voters choose three candidates per district, drew enough candidates to make the races interesting.

The retirement of District 33 Democrat Marsha G. Perry, who stepped down after three terms, created a wide-open Democratic race with four candidates: Marcia Richard drew 30 percent, Sheila Schneider drew 28 percent, Gayle Powell drew 30 percent and Alvin Tilghman took in 12 percent.

On the Republican side, Dels. Robert C. Baldwin and Janet Greenip and Crownsville resident David G. Boschert took the top three slots with 21 percent, 19 percent and 18 percent, respectively.

District 31, which includes Pasadena, Brooklyn Park and parts of Glen Burnie, had seven Democrats and five Republicans campaigning for three slots in each primary. Incumbent Democrat Joan Cadden, seeking a third term, led with 30 percent, followed by Glen Burnie community activist Mary Rosso with 26 percent and assistant county prosecutor Thomas J. Fleckenstein with 12 percent. Pasadena community leader Carolyn M. Roeding; Jacqueline Boone Allsup, a registered nurse and Glen Burnie resident; Stephan W. Fogleman, a Severna Park resident with a law practice in Glen Burnie; and Edward V. Smith of Severna Park rounded out the ballot.

On the Republican side, delegates John R. Leopold and Victoria L. Schade, both of Pasadena, and Severna Park resident Robert Schaeffer were the top vote-getters, with 35 percent, 26 percent, and 14 percent, respectively. Schade's legislative assistant Kevin Reigrut, also of Pasadena, and Severna Park resident David Ready rounded out the Republican ballot.

In District 30, Democratic incumbent Dels. Virginia P. Clagett of West River, running for a second term, and Michael E. Busch, of Annapolis, seeking a fourth term, and Richard D'Amato of Annapolis were in the lead for the top slots, with 32 percent, 30 percent and 26 percent of the vote in early results. Annapolis resident Rocky Rosacker, a former Republican, came in fourth. Rosacker placed third in the Republican primary for this seat in 1994.

Incumbent Phillip D. Bissett of Edgewater, Edward J. Turner of Arnold and Anthony McConkey of Annapolis were the top vote-getters in the Republican primary in District 30 in the early returns. Annapolis residents F. Gregory Baldwin, Riccardo Paradiso and Matthew Thomas had also vied for a chance to unseat the district's Democrats in November.

In District 32, Del. Mary Ann Love and former district delegates Theodore J. Sophocleus and Victor Sulin took 34 percent, 31 percent and 25 percent of the vote, leaving challenger Eric R. Hirtle last. The Republican House primary was uncontested.

Pub Date: 9/16/98

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.