Illinois bass tourney offers largest purse Championship winner to receive $250,000

September 13, 1998|By Peter Baker | Peter Baker,SUN STAFF

Bass pros get a shot at the largest purse ever offered in the sport this week when the $450,000 Wal-Mart FLW Tour Championship gets under way on the Mississippi River near Moline, Ill.

The winner of the competition, which includes the top 50 pros and top 50 amateurs from the six events on the tour leading to the championship, will receive $250,000 cash.

The first seed in the pro side of the competition is Denny Brauer of Camdenton, Mo., who won the Kmart Bassmaster Top 150 tournament on the Potomac River recently. Brauer also won the Bassmasters Classic in August.

In the championship, the 100-man field will compete Wednesday and Thursday for highest weights of bass and one of 10 slots each for pros and amateurs in the second round on Friday.

After the first two days of competition, the top 10 on both sides of the field go back to zero pounds for the second round. Friday is the last day for amateur competition, with the highest weight caught that day winning $25,000.

The pro competition, however, continues with the top five

weights advancing to the final round on Saturday.

For the final round, anglers again start at zero and each competitor is teamed with an ESPN television camera crew (broadcast date is Oct. 18, 1 p.m.).

While the launch site is in Moline, all waters of the Mississippi River are open to tournament fishing.

CBYRA race week

Ramrod, Annapolis marina owner Bert Jabin's entry in PHRF AO, placed first in four races to win its class during CBYRA Annapolis Race Week.

Other class winners in the Chesapeake Bay Yacht Racing Association's premier event of the season were:

PHRF A1 -- Snake Bite, Teague/Bingham; PHRF A2 -- Accomplice, Coyer/Smith; J/35 -- Dreamer, C&J MacGibbon; Mumm 30 -- Turbo Duck, Bodo von der Wense; PHRF A3 -- Contraire, Steve Schaub; PHRF B -- Brown Sugar, Michael Hecky; MORC A -- The Knife, Mack Latz; MORC B -- Hyder Alley, Thomas Price; J/30 -- John White; PHRF C -- Red Streaker, Calvert/Harris; PHRF N -- Carrot, J. Cilumbrello; Catalina 27 -- Finesse, Becker/Baxter; Cal 25 -- Alice May, Michael O'Toole (national championship); Rainbow -- Jack Tar, Leigh Doptis; J/22 -- Daddy, Peter McChesney; J/24 -- Show Dog, Peter Rich/Ben Caputo; Melges 24 -- Razzle Dazle, Scott Allan.

NOOD coming to Annapolis

The GMC Yukon/Sailing World National Offshore One-Design sailing series will make its Chesapeake Bay debut in Annapolis from May 7-9 next year.

The NOOD event will be headquartered at the Annapolis Yacht Club.

"The NOOD regatta will be an expansion of our existing spring regatta," said AYC Commodore Karl von Schwarz. "This event has the potential to attract racing boats traveling north after a winter of regattas in Florida -- and it has the potential to get local boats geared up earlier in the year to become a major springtime opener for our region."

Potential classes include: Alberg 30, Catalina 27, Cal 25, One Design 35, seven classes of J/Boats, Laser 28, Melges 24, Mumm 30 and Pearson 30.

Pub Date: 9/13/98

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.