The inspirations of Eve Bunting Author, Author

August 19, 1998|By Randi Kest

Ghosts, squid, giants and ordinary children show up on the pages of Eve Bunting's 100-plus books for children and young adults. Her first, "The Two Giants," was published in 1972 and was followed by picture books and novels for young age groups.

After growing up in Northern Ireland, Bunting moved to California with her husband in 1958. Her writing career began 11 years later when her three children were in high school and college.

Bunting says her ideas and inspirations come from everywhere, adding that she never has enough time to write about all the

interesting things she sees.

Among her more than a dozen honors are a Caldecott Medal for "Smoky Night," an Edgar for mystery writing and the Golden Kite Award for "One More Flight." She has taught at the University of California-Los Angeles and is a member of the board of directors of the Society of Children's Book Writers.

Books by Eve Bunting include:

"Night of the Gargoyles"

"Scary, Scary Halloween"

"Summer Wheels"

"Jumping the Nail"

"Night Tree"

"The Hideout"

"A Sudden Silence"

"Sixth-Grade Sleepover"

"Jane Martin, Dog Detective"

"Demetrius and the Golden Goblet"

"Flower Garden"


"My Backpack"

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.