Many hopefuls join fall campaign 32 candidates file to run for council

July 08, 1998|By Tanya Jones | Tanya Jones,SUN STAFF

An article in yesterday's edition of The Sun in Anne Arundel listing candidates who have filed for the September primary election misstated the address of Del. Virginia P. Clagett, a District 30 Democrat.

Clagett lives in West River.

The Sun regrets the error.

A mix of newcomers and veteran campaigners, including a councilman narrowly defeated in 1994, has filled out the slate of candidates seeking county and state offices.

The Monday night filing deadline left two Republicans, including incumbent John G. Gary, and two Democrats running for the office of county executive.


In the District 3 County Council race, former Councilman Carl G. "Dutch" Holland has joined three other Republicans vying for the seat held by Democrat Thomas W. Redmond Sr. Redmond beat Holland with a 51 percent majority, a margin of 423 votes, in the 1994 general election. District 3 includes Pasadena, Riviera Beach and the Marley Neck area.

This year, Redmond faces four challengers in the September Democratic primary.

Just as crowded as the District 3 race is the contest for the District 5 seat that Councilwoman Diane R. Evans is leaving to run for county executive. Five Democrats and four Republicans want to replace her.

Two of the three Republican council incumbents -- Chairman Bert L. Rice in District 4 and William C. Mulford II in District 6 -- have no primary competition. And in each of those districts, only one Democrat is running. In District 7, incumbent John J. Klocko III will face Republican Patricia O'Brien Boarman of Deale in the primary. No Democrats filed.

Overall, 17 Democrats and 15 Republicans are seeking council seats, a slightly more crowded field than in 1994, when 17 Democrats and 11 Republicans ran.

Republican-turned-Democrat Evans has criticized Gary for contributing to school crowding and for his school funding policies. And Democrat Janet S. Owens has charged Evans with going along with Gary's plan to keep control of millions of dollars instead of giving it directly to the school system.

Calling himself a "nonpolitician," William Costello, an Annapolis Republican, lobbed charges at the county government for ignoring residents and businesses, as he announced his candidacy for county executive.

With crowded fields and a large number of relative newcomers, voter turnout in September will be crucial for candidates with less name recognition, according to Marcia Richard, chairwoman the Anne Arundel Democratic Central Committee and a candidate for the House of Delegates in District 33.

"The voters will have a lot of choices," Richard said. But the high number of candidates in some races is not a problem, she said. "It's important to keep the party alive and vigorous."

Here are the names of candidates for county and state offices: County executive: Democrats Diane R. Evans, Severna Park; and Janet S. Owens, Millersville; Republicans William Costello, Annapolis; and John G. Gary, Millersville (incumbent).

State's attorney: Democrat Frank R. Weathersbee, Crownsville (incumbent); Republican Richard R. Trunnell, Crofton.

Sheriff: Democrats Thomas Gillen, Carvel Beach; and George F. Johnson IV (incumbent); Republicans Mark Gillen, Carvel Beach; and J. Patrick Ogle, Annapolis.

County Council

District 1: Democrats Pam Graboski Beidle, Linthicum; and George M. Wagner, Glen Burnie; Republican Gerald P. Starr, Linthicum.

District 2: Democrats Daniel Klosterman, Millersville; David M. Schafer, Severn; and Patrick Michael Smith, Severn; Republicans Gregory A. Harthausen Sr., Millersville; and Robert G. Pepersack Sr., Glen Burnie.

District 3: Democrats Mary Herb, Pasadena; Brantley Marshall, Pasadena; John Morgan, Chestnut Hill Cove; A. Shirley Murphy, Pasadena; and Thomas W. Redmond Sr., Pasadena (incumbent); Republicans Deborah Ann Conklin, Pasadena; Carl G. "Dutch" Holland, Pasadena; John Edward Moran IV, Pasadena; and Brian J. Noon, Pasadena.

District 4: Democrat Bill D. Burlison, Odenton; and Republican Bert L. Rice, Odenton (incumbent).

District 5: Democrats David DeAngelis, Severna Park; Tara K. Frame, Arnold; Mary P. Marsh, Arnold; Susan E. Pogue, Arnold; and Joseph A. Spiegel, Annapolis; Republicans Robert J. Hannon Jr., Arnold; Lawrence Masterson, Severna Park; Cliff R. Roop, Severna Park; and Cathleen M. Vitale, Severna Park.

District 6: Democrat Barbara Samorajczyk, Annapolis; and Republican William C. Mulford II, Annapolis (incumbent).

District 7: Republicans Patricia O'Brien Boarman, Deale; and John J. Klocko III, Crofton (incumbent).

State House

District 27: Senate -- Democrats Juanita Miller, Clinton; Thomas V. Mike Miller, Clinton (incumbent); Robert A. Sturgell, Owings. House of Delegates -- Democrat George W. Owings III, Dunkirk (incumbent); and Republican Joseph J. Rooney, Tracys Landing.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.