Nearly 60 file to run in primary 18 candidates enter the race for commissioner

July 07, 1998|By John Murphy | John Murphy,SUN STAFF

Some intense races pitting political newcomers against seasoned political veterans are shaping up for the September primary in this fast-growing county.

When the Board of Supervisors of Elections closed its doors at 9 p.m. yesterday, nearly 60 county residents had filed for local races ranging from state Senate to register of wills.

The primary will be held on Sept. 15. The general election is Nov. 3.

The race for the county's three commissioner's seats should be a dogfight, with 18 candidates competing for the nominations. Those who filed early have raised some of the issues that will define the race: growth, agricultural preservation, economic development and taxes.

Fourteen Republicans, including incumbents Donald I. Dell and Richard T. Yates, are vying in the primary. The Democrats posted a field of four candidates.

Gregory Pecoraro, a member of the Democratic Central Committee, predicted that the crowded Republican field in the commissioners' race should help the Democrats.

"The Republicans will have a bitterly contested race. I think there is a good chance for the Democrats to win two commissioner seats," he said.

Ragen Cherney, secretary of the Carroll County Republican Central Committee disagreed, arguing that a competitive field will produce stronger candidates for the general election. Cherney attributed the number of Republican candidates to the overall health of the party.

"We have a very competitive party now, so more people are likely to get involved," he said.

In most races, Republicans outnumber Democrats.

After a slow start this election year, the Democrats posted candidates in every race except in the District 5 state Senate and state's attorney races.

"We didn't try to round up anyone to run for office," said Phil Miller, chairman of the Carroll County Democratic Central Committee. "Several people are planning to run for those offices next time. They weren't prepared to run this time."

This is how the races looked last night. County elections officials cautioned that the candidates must be certified. Incumbents are marked with an asterisk:

Senate District 4: Democrat George Hayes Littrell Jr. of Frederick. Republicans Timothy R. Ferguson* of Taylorsville and Jerome J. Joyce of New Market.

Senate District 5: Republican Larry E. Haines* of Westminster. No Democrats have filed.

House of Delegates District 4B: Democrat Ann M. Ballard of Mount Airy. Republican Donald B. Elliot* of New Windsor.

House of Delegates District 5: Democrat Ellen Willis Miller* of Westminster. Republicans Carmen Amedori of Westminster, W. David Blair of Manchester, W. Benjamin Brown of Westminster, Joseph M. Getty* of Manchester, Nancy R. Stocksdale* of Westminster.

County Commissioner: Democrats Perry L. Jones Jr. of Union Bridge, Roger Larry Mann of Westminster, Randy M. Reese of Hampstead, Maxine Carole Wooleyhand of Sykesville. Republicans Michael R. Baker of Westminster, Edward S. Calwell Sr. of Westminster, John F. Curran Jr. of Westminster, Donald I. Dell* of Westminster, Robin Bartlett Frazier of Manchester, Julia Walsh Gouge of Hampstead, James E. Harris Sr. of Westminster, M. Patricia Holbert of Westminster, Melvin Mills of Finksburg, George William Murphy III of Sykesville, Stephen Matthew Nevin of Finksburg, Betty L. Smith of Westminster, Harvey I. Tegeler Jr. of Westminster, Richard T. Yates* of Eldersburg.

Carolyn L. Fairbank, an Eldersburg Democrat, filed as an independent but must obtain signatures from 2,600 registered voters on petitions endorsing her candidacy if she is to appear on the November ballot. There is no primary for independents.

State's Attorney: Republican Jerry F. Barnes* of Westminster. No Democrats have filed.

Clerk of the Circuit Court: Republicans Joseph Burns Jr. of Westminster and Larry W. Shipley* of Westminster.

Register of Wills: Democrat John Lockard Barnes of Millers. Republicans Nancy L. Airing* of Taneytown, Donald B. Sealing II of Sykesville, Francis X. Walsh of Westminster, Ryan M. Warner of Manchester.

Judge of the Orphan's Court: Democrat Elmer C. Lippy of Manchester. Republicans John David Carbaugh of Westminster, V. David Grayson of Taneytown, Walter T. Haines Jr.* of Westminster, James Earl Kraft of Finksburg, Raymond B. Pool of Westminster, Herbert J. Reisig of Finksburg, Albert W. Selby* of Sykesville, Dorothy V. Utz* of Westminster.

Sheriff: Democrat Mervin L. Spiwak of Westminster. Republicans John H. Brown* of Westminster and Kenneth L. Tregoning of Union Bridge.

Board of Education: Gary W. Bauer* of Hampstead, Colin M. Bisasky of Sykesville, Susan Krebs of Sykesville, Neil F. MacGregor of Westminster, Mary D. Oldewurtel of Sykesville, James E. Reter of Westminster, Thomas L. Shaffer of Westminster, Thelma P. Smith of Sykesville and C. Scott Stone* of Hampstead.

Pub Date: 7/07/98

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.