Today is deadline to file for primary Elections board to stay open until 9 p.m.

July 06, 1998|By John Murphy | John Murphy,SUN STAFF

Today is the last day candidates can file for the Sept. 15 primary. The county Board of Supervisors of Elections will stay open until 9 p.m. at its office in the multiservice center at 224 N. Center St., Westminster.

This is how the races looked at the end of last week. Incumbents are marked with an asterisk:

Senate District 4: Democrat George Hayes Littrell Jr. of Frederick. Republicans Timothy R. Ferguson* of Taylorsville and Jerome J. Joyce of New Market.

Senate District 5: Republican Larry E. Haines* of Westminster. No Democrats have filed.

House of Delegates District 4B: Democrat Ann M. Ballard of Mount Airy. Republican Donald B. Elliot* of New Windsor.

House of Delegates District 5: Democrat Ellen Willis Miller* of Westminster. Republicans Carmen Amedori of Westminster, W. David Blair of Manchester, W. Benjamin Brown of Westminster, Joseph M. Getty* of Manchester, Nancy R. Stocksdale* of Westminster.

County Commissioner: Democrats Perry L. Jones Jr. of Union Bridge, Roger Larry Mann of Westminster, Randy M. Reese of Hampstead, Maxine Carole Wooleyhand of Sykesville. Republicans Michael R. Baker of Westminster, Edward S. Calwell Sr. of Westminster, Donald I. Dell* of Westminster, Robin Bartlett Frazier of Manchester, James E. Harris Sr. of Westminster, M. Patricia Holbert of Westminster, Melvin Mills of Finksburg, George William Murphy III of Sykesville, Stephen Matthew Nevin of Finksburg, Betty L. Smith of Westminster, Harvey I. Tegeler Jr. of Westminster, Richard T. Yates* of Sykesville.

State's Attorney: Republican Jerry F. Barnes* of Westminster. No Democrats have filed.

Clerk of the Circuit Court: Republicans Joseph Burns Jr. of Westminster and Larry W. Shipley* of Westminster.

Register of Wills: Democrat John Lockard Barnes of Millers. BTC Republicans Nancy L. Airing* of Taneytown, Donald B. Sealing II of Sykesville, Ryan M. Warner of Manchester.

Judge of the Orphan's Court: Democrat Elmer C. Lippy of Manchester. Republicans John David Carbaugh of Westminster, V. David Grayson of Taneytown, Walter T. Haines Jr.* of Westminster, James Earl Kraft of Finksburg, Raymond B. Pool of Westminster, Herbert J. Reisig of Finksburg, Albert W. Selby* of Sykesville, Dorothy V. Utz* of Westminster.

Sheriff: Democrat Mervin L. Spiwak of Westminster. Republicans John H. Brown* of Westminster and Kenneth L. Tregoning of Union Bridge.

Board of Education: Gary W. Bauer* of Hampstead, Colin M. Bisasky of Sykesville, Susan Krebs of Sykesville, Neil F. MacGregor of Westminster, James E. Reter of Westminster, Thelma P. Smith of Sykesville, C. Scott Stone* of Hampstead.

Pub Date: 7/06/98

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.