Chesapeake High graduates win honors


June 12, 1998|By Peg Adamarczyk | Peg Adamarczyk,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

LAST WEEK, I listed the award winners in Northeast High School's Class of 1998. This week, it's Chesapeake's turn.

Five Chesapeake graduates were recognized as commended scholars from the National Merit Scholars program: Lauren Boudra, Gwendolyn Degentesh, Jonathan Eser, William Fink and Christopher Zalamia.

Stephen Demby received the National Achievement Scholarship award, and Melanie Ulrey received a National Hispanic Scholarship award.

Eser and Zalamia were honored as finalists in the Maryland Distinguished Scholars program, and Mandy Jones won semifinalist honors. Shawn Burton, Degentesh, Janet Frank, Nicholas Garufi, Kellie HoGan, Traci Johnson, Ryan Plews, Amy Reddinger, Robert Reichert, Gail Siemer, Jason Van Brackel and Shannon Varnum received honorable mention.

Presidential Academic Fitness awards went to Elizabeth Aten, Angela Beasley, Michael Bombard, Boudra, James Brewer, Burton, Michael Davis, Degentesh, Demby, Eser, Victoria Fishback, Frank, Christina Franklin, Garufi, William Gehrig, George Gutridge, Eric Hartlove, Kevin Hillock, Jessica Jones, Jones, Kimberly Lesher, Joseph Lex, Dionysios Marinakis, Erin McCloud, Christina Miller, Elena Novaco, Rebecca Perro, Tabitha Perry, Plews, Cheryl Pope, Chris Resnick, Aaron Riddle, Jessica Schoonover, Brian Shepley, Siemer, Ulrey, Van Brackel and Zalamia.

Department awards were presented to Daniel Tipton, art; Ryan Howard, business education; Frank, English; Michele Smith, family and consumer sciences; Aten, foreign language; Garufi, mathematics; Brewer, instrumental music; Kenneth Gnacyk, vocal music; Riddle, physical education; Eser, science; Krista Capitano, social studies; Beasley, technical education; Jones, excellence in psychology; Jennifer Chesson, special education assistant; and Adam Morris, Intensity V.

Other local, state, and general scholarships and awards were presented to Joseph Anarino, Eckerd College grant; Aten, Maryland senatorial scholarship, Tyler Bradley Pope scholarship; Stephanie Billing, University of Maryland, Baltimore County grant; Bombard, Gettysburg College presidential scholarship; Boudra, UMBC Meyerhoff scholarship; Brewer, University of Delaware academic scholarship; Christopher Broome, Pasadena Business Association, Pasadena Elementary PTA, Annapolis Links superintendent's certificate; Burton, Valley Forge Christian College dean's scholarship, Jacobsville Elementary PTA; Capitano, Goucher College Marvin Perry scholarship, Jean Beaudin White Memorial scholarship; Brooke Clyde, Mountain Road Soccer, Chesapeake High School Athletic Boosters, Thomas Austin McBee scholarship, William Bowser memorial award; Chesson, Kiwanis Club of Mountain Road; Degentesh, St. Mary's College scholarship.

Flea market

Shop for recycled treasures at the East Anne Arundel Lion and Lioness Clubs' flea market and bake sale from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. tomorrow at Community United Methodist Church, 8680 Fort Smallwood Road.

"We've gathered a wide assortment of items for our first flea market fund-raiser," said Louise McCauley, Lioness spokeswoman.

Proceeds will benefit the Visions 2000 project at the Johns Hopkins Low Vision Research Center in Baltimore.

Seniors program

Pasadena's senior citizens are invited to visit the county Department of Aging's Senior Nutrition Program at Magothy United Methodist Church, 3703 Mountain Road.

The nutrition site is open from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Tuesdays. Activities include line dancing, lunch, bingo, oil painting classes, day trips, guest speakers and health screenings.

Information: 410-255-2420.

Ranger promotion

A familiar face to regular visitors at Downs Park is missing.

Ranger Bill Offutt, who has run the park's Adopt-an-Owl and Junior Naturalist programs for three years, has been promoted to superintendent of Kinder Park in Severna Park.

Pub Date: 6/12/98

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.