State baseball final

May 22, 1998|By Pat O'Malley

Class 4A

No. 1 Arundel (21-4) vs. No. 9 Patterson (21-2)

When: 7 p.m. today

Where: Joe Cannon Stadium, Harmans

Outlook: Baltimore's Patterson and the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association makes their first appearance in the Class 4A final against the Cadillac team of the 24-year-old state tournament. Top-ranked Arundel, which has a Maryland record seven state championships, is making its state-record 11th appearance in a state final. Coached by Bernie Walter, Arundel also has been the state's most dominant team of the 1990s, winning state titles in 1991, 1993 and 1995 and finishing as runner-up in 1994 and 1996.

"This is what we wanted when the Baltimore schools first got into the state tournaments -- get to play the storied programs like Arundel," said Patterson coach Roger Wrenn. He is expected to send his ace, Shawn Fisher (6-0), to the mound tonight. Fisher was the winner in relief Tuesday over Greenbelt's Eleanor Roosevelt, an eight-inning 5-4 win in Gaithersburg. Fisher, a shortstop when he's not pitching, is also the Clippers' leading hitter. Other Patterson players to watch are cleanup hitter-catcher Terry Bell, third baseman Dino Alger and pitcher-outfielders Jeff Simmers and Brian McDonald.

Arundel advanced by hammering Gaithersburg, 13-7, in the other semifinal Tuesday, and the Wildcats did not use their top two pitchers. Junior right-hander Andy Kostic (9-1) and senior lefty Justin Bell (8-0) are both well rested. Reliefer Dave Stallings picked up Tuesday's win, as the Wildcats' first three batters, Todd Heron, Hector Guadalupe and Norris Roy, went 6-for-10 with six runs and eight RBIs. Roy hit a three-run homer. The big question going into tonight is this: Will the Clippers be able to get the Wildcats out? Arundel has scored 55 runs in five playoff games.

Pub Date: 5/22/98

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.