Scholar Athlete awards set tonight

March 11, 1998|By Steven Kivinski

Ninety-three football scholar athletes from the Greater Baltimore area will be honored at tonight's 35th annual Scholar Athlete Awards Dinner at Martin's West.

From that exceptional group, five regional scholarship winners will be selected with one of the five being chosen as the grand winner.

A total of $10,000 in scholarship money will be awarded to the winners by the Baltimore Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame.

WMAR's Keith Mills will serve as emcee and Howard University football coach Steve Wilson will be the featured speaker.

In addition to the five high school scholar athletes, the organization will present special achievement awards to Class 1A football champion Hereford, 3A champ Wilde Lake and Western Maryland College's Centennial Conference champs.

Loyola High School will be given the A. Paul Menton Award for finishing as the area's top scholastic football team.

Here is a list of the 93 nominees:

Aberdeen -- Brian Sappington; Annapolis -- Michael Donlin; Archbishop Curley -- Michael Boettcher; Archbishop Spalding -- Alan Creveling; Arundel -- Robert Connolly; Atholton -- Wade Zancan; Bel Air -- Stephen Yuhas; Boys' Latin -- Jason Leneau; Broadneck -- Walter Wagner; Brunswick -- Adam Eshbaugh; C. Milton Wright -- James Fielder; Calvert Hall -- Loui Georgalas; Cardinal Gibbons -- Floyd Dean; Carver -- Jeffrey Blair; Catoctin -- Pyo Duk; Catonsville -- Aaron Chesley; Centennial -- Andy Cothran; Chesapeake-AA -- Ryan Plews; Chesapeake-BC -- Christopher Porter; City -- Jeffrey Brown; Douglass -- Stephen Robinson; Dulaney -- Stephen Duncan; Dunbar -- Dahnel Singfield; Eastern Tech -- Steve Costello; Edgewood -- Heber Brown; Edmondson -- Khalil Adolemaiu-Bey; Fallston -- Eugene Liebel; Forest Park -- Eugene Redfern; Francis Scott Key -- Kevin DeCarlo; Franklin -- Jason Bailey; Frederick -- Ryan Pinckney; Friends -- Guy Furman; Gilman -- Patrick Boyle; Glen Burnie -- Gregory Skipper; Glenelg -- Karl Horman; Hammond -- Matt Green; Havre de Grace -- Jason Bauer; Hereford -- Jason Wingeart; Howard -- Ja'Bre Morrison; John Carroll -- Michael Iacchei; Joppatowne -- Jason Roe; Kenwood -- Mike Baker; Lake Clifton -- Joseph Able; Lansdowne -- David Fish; Liberty -- Joel Denning; Linganore -- Jedediah Smith; Loch Raven -- John Hoyt; Long Reach -- Gregg Matusewitch; Loyola -- Bradley Cook; McDonogh -- Anuj Bhasin; Meade -- Malwan Johnson; Mervo -- Rashaan Torian; Middletown -- James Corbett; Milford Mill -- David Boyd; Mount St. Joseph -- James Baronas; Mount Hebron -- Christopher Deweese; North Carroll -- Jeffrey Painter; North Harford -- Andrew Rutherford; North County -- Kevin Ebersole; Northeast -- Erick Dawson; Northwestern -- Aaron Johnson; Oakland Mills -- Paul Duffy; Old Mill -- Anthony Snukis; Overlea -- Brad Bassinger; Owings Mills -- Alex Gitomer; Parkville -- Brandon Pollack; Patapsco -- Marco Harris; Patterson -- Leonard Bridgeforth; Perry Hall -- Thomas Lentz; Pikesville -- Matthew Paper; Poly -- Craig Green; Randallstown -- Thomas Stallings; River Hill Mike Kelley; Severn -- Doug Hughes; Severna Park -- Dan Allen; South Carroll -- Keith Long; South River -- Dan Summey; Southern-AA -- Matt Chase; Southern-B -- Mike Nelson; Southwestern -- Chyrome Devaughn; Sparrows Point -- Tim Apicella; St. Paul's -- John DiCamillo; St. Mary's -- Eric Verploegen; Thomas Johnson -- Kristian Derwin; Towson -- Paul Spence; Walbrook -- Jemeil Boone; Walkersville -- Justin Wiggs; Western Tech -- Chris Hudson; Westminster -- Randy Stull; Wilde Lake -- Alejandro Mosquera; Woodlawn -- Tavon Mason.

Pub Date: 3/11/98

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.