Search panel named to scout candidates for president of UM Goal is to pick successor by Kirwan's departure

January 29, 1998|By Timothy B. Wheeler | Timothy B. Wheeler,SUN STAFF

The search for a new president of the University of Maryland, College Park got under way yesterday with the announcement of an 18-member committee to scout potential successors to William E. "Brit" Kirwan.

Kirwan, president for 10 years, is to leave the 33,000-student campus July 1 to take over the presidency of Ohio State University.

In naming the panel, University System Chancellor Donald N. Langenberg said the final candidate chosen by the board of regents "must be one who can pick up where Brit left off" in leading the flagship of the 11-campus university system.

Langenberg said in an interview this week that he hoped the search panel could cull three to five finalists from an expected pool of about 200 prospects. The committee is being encouraged to consider candidates from all walks of life, not just presidents or provosts of major universities in other states or inside applicants from College Park.

From that screening, which is to be done in secret, the board of regents is expected to select a successor to Kirwan, who has been at College Park for 30 years as a mathematics professor and administrator.

University system guidelines call for presidential searches to take no more than six months, and Langenberg said he hoped this committee could complete its work by Kirwan's departure. He said a national head-hunting firm would be hired.

The committee, which includes seven faculty members, five administrators, two students and four members of the board of visitors and alumni groups, is to be led by Susan Carroll Schwab, dean of the School of Public Affairs at College Park.

Schwab called the committee "an excellent cross-section of the university community."

"I am confident that it will identify the most capable candidates for the position," she said.

Faculty representatives on the panel are: Marvin Breslow, history professor and chairman of the College Park faculty senate; Nariman Farvardin, chairman of electrical engineering; Elisabeth Gantt, microbiology professor; Ted Gurr, government and politics professor; Christopher Kendall, music school director; Chuan Liu, physics professor; and Lemma W. Senbet, finance professor.

The search includes three members of College Park's board of visitors: Chairman John Lauer, Vice Chairman Ray LaPlaca and Phil Rever.

Also on the panel are: Kathleen Rosenberger, alumni association president; Patricia Moreland, specialist in the Counseling Center; Terry Flannery, director of university marketing; Charles Lowry, dean of libraries; Marie S. Davidson, executive assistant to the campus president; Jonathan Busch, student government association president; and John Hernandez, a doctoral student in counseling and personnel services.

Pub Date: 1/29/98

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.