Baltimore Co. Planning Board announces new appointments

January 14, 1998|BY A SUN STAFF WRITER

The Baltimore County Planning Board will soon have three new members and a change of leadership, under a series of appointments announced Monday by county officials.

Former Catonsville County Councilman John V. Murphy, Randall P. Cogar of Middle River, and Wayne C. McGinnis, a fourth-generation farmer from White Hall who for 10 years headed the county's Agricultural Land Preservation Board, were named to the board.

Current board member Kenneth N. Oliver of Randallstown has been tapped to head the board, while current member Charles E. Klein of Owings Mills has been nominated to be vice chairman, subject to approval of the County Council.

County Executive C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger also reappointed builder Ellwood A. Sinsky to a new term.

The 15-member board uses the county's capital budget to recommend and monitor construction projects.

The panel is often asked to review developments -- as it has in recent years on the Hayfields golf course, the St. Timothy's School housing development plan and an unsuccessful proposal build a NASCAR speedway in Middle River.

Pub Date: 1/14/98

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.