Win dinner with the Ticker, Guess the Dow's 1998 close

The Ticker

January 14, 1998|By Julius Westheimer

If you would like to have dinner as guests of Mr. and Mrs. Ticker at your favorite restaurant, try to win our 1998 Dow Jones forecasting contest.

If you finish second, you will be our lunch guests. The 10 next-closest crystal ball gazers will receive books about money and investments.

To enter, send a postcard -- no letters will be accepted -- with your prediction for the 1998 year-end close of the Dow Jones industrial average. Send only one card per person.

Ties will be decided by the flip of a coin.

Print your whole number prediction (no decimals), name, home address and phone number. Give reasons for your prediction, if you wish -- we will print some -- but they are not required.

Mail your postcard to Julius Westheimer, Ticker Contest, c/o Business News, The Sun, 501 N. Calvert St., Baltimore 21278. Entries must be postmarked by midnight Jan. 31. Don't be afraid to try.

For studious forecasters, here are 1998 predictions of local and national financial personalities: Baltimore-based investment adviser Eddie Brown, 8,725; Baltimorean and nationally known mutual fund executive Frank Cappiello, 8,400; local counselor Howard "Pete" Colhoun, 8,850; Mr. Ticker, 8,345.

Steve Hanke, professor of applied economics, the Johns Hopkins University, says, "No doubt about it: Deflation will engulf Asia. This will be negative for U.S. stocks. For the past years, investors have succeeded by just buying 'big-name' stocks. Now, stock selection will rise to the fore."

On the national scene, adviser Ralph Acampora (only nine points away from the final Dow Jones last year) predicts 7,300; investment counselor Laszlo Birinyi, who has an excellent six-year prediction record, 9,750; Robert Stovall, brokerage executive, 7,972; Abby Joseph Cohen, Goldman Sachs, 8,700.

Pub Date: 1/14/98

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.