Six area schools recognized for excellence

November 25, 1997|By Mary Maushard | Mary Maushard,SUN STAFF

Eleven Maryland public schools -- six in the Baltimore metropolitan area -- have been named 1997 Maryland Blue Ribbon Schools of Excellence by the State Department of Education.

A panel of education and community leaders judged schools on the quality of instruction and curriculum, leadership, tests scores, staff training, learning climate and parental and community involvement.

In the metropolitan area, the schools are:

Baltimore City: Roland Park Elementary/Middle.

Baltimore County: Dumbarton Middle and Eastern Technical High.

Anne Arundel: South River High.

Harford: Joppatowne High.

Howard: Patapsco Middle.

Other schools honored are:

Middletown Middle, Frederick County; Robert Frost Middle, Montgomery County; Eleanor Roosevelt High, Prince George's County; Hancock Middle/Senior, Washington County; and Stephen Decatur High, Worcester County.

Only middle and secondary schools were considered for the honor this year; exemplary elementary schools were cited last year.

The schools will compete with others from around the country in the U.S Department of Education's National Blue Ribbon Schools of Excellence program. Winners will be announced in May.

The schools will also serve as models for others around the state.

"These schools demonstrate exceptionally well everything that public education is and can be," said Maryland Superintendent of Schools Nancy S. Grasmick. "We are fortunate to be able to learn from them."

The schools will be honored by the State Board of Education in December and by the General Assembly early next year. In April, the schools' teachers, administrators, staffs and parents will be honored at a gala.

Pub Date: 11/25/97

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.