Salisbury, Frostburg join football conference Atlantic Central begins competition next season

November 20, 1997|By Bill Free | Bill Free,SUN STAFF

Growing tired of a never-ending battle as independents to schedule Division III football opponents, Salisbury State and Frostburg State have decided to become two of six charter members in a new Atlantic Central Football Conference.

It is the first venture into a football conference in the history of Salisbury State and Frostburg State.

Both schools have flirted with possible NCAA Division III football championships in past years, with Salisbury State advancing to the Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl for the Division III championship in 1986 and Frostburg making the final eight in 1993.

The league will begin play in 1998, but will not name its first champion until 1999.

The other four schools in the conference are Wesley (Del.) College, Chowan (N.C.) College, Ferrum (Va.) College and Methodist (N.C.) College.

Salisbury State's 18 other varsity programs will continue to compete as members of the Capital Athletic Conference, and Frostburg State will remain in the Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference for most of its sports.

Villa Julie complex

In a little more than six weeks, Villa Julie College will open a state-of-the-art sports complex that will enable the school to play host to Division III regional men's and women's basketball and volleyball events and offer students a complete package of workout facilities.

The new gymnasium, which has a seating capacity of 1,035, will be inaugurated Jan. 6 with a men's and women's basketball doubleheader between Villa Julie and St. Mary's College.

Bozier MEAC Coach of Year

Morgan State volleyball coach Ramona Riley Bozier has been selected the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference Coach of the Year for the third straight season.

Riley Bozier has built an MEAC volleyball dynasty out of a team that didn't win one match in 1988, the year before she took over the Bears.

Riley Bozier guided Morgan to the MEAC tournament championship after compiling a 21-9 overall regular-season record and 10-0 mark in the MEAC Northern Division.

Honors for Salisbury

Salisbury State, ranked No. 1 in the final NCAA Division III field hockey poll, has swept the three top postseason awards in the Capital Athletic Conference.

Laura Getty was chosen the Player of the Year, Kristin Archer was named the Goalkeeper of the Year, and Dawn Chamberlin was selected the Coach of the Year.

Kristin Heath, Megan Hopper and Karen LaPolla also earned first-team All-CAC honors and Salisbury's Beth Getty and Becky Tregoning were second-team selections.

Nairem Moran of St. Mary's College was chosen on the second team.

Simon, Ogawa honored

College of Notre Dame senior Judy Simon has been named the Most Outstanding Field Hockey Player in the Atlantic Women's Colleges Conference after leading the Charles Street school to the conference title this season.

Simon was joined on the all-conference first team by senior Meghan Hill and juniors Sara Gentilcore and Amanda Bruno.

In volleyball, College of Notre Dame senior Yuka Ogawa was chosen the Atlantic Women's Colleges Conference Most Outstanding Player for the third consecutive season.

Other Notre Dame players making the all-conference volleyball first team were senior Emily Yanero and freshman Bonnie O'Shields.

CND volleyball coach Kelli Scott Marsh was named the AWCC Coach of the Year after guiding the Gators to the conference championship.

Pub Date: 11/20/97

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.