'Celebration Gardens' competition winners selected

EC 225

October 13, 1997|By Jean Leslie | Jean Leslie,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

$TC THE EC 225 Committee -- residents who want to highlight Ellicott City's 225th birthday -- worked for four years to prepare for 1997's celebrations.

The mission of committee members -- Cynthia Hirshberg, John Slater, Ed Lilley, Darlene Schneeberger, Herbert Johl, Warren Galke, Janet Kusterer, Randy Peters and Kathy Potocki -- was to beautify Historic Ellicott City and surrounding areas.

In 1994, they sponsored an activity for 14 Patapsco Middle School students, who cleared the weeds from the land between the Firehouse Museum and the Masonic Lodge and planted donated plants to mimic a garden as it would have looked in the late 19th century.

In 1995, they organized a meeting between professionals in the landscape industry and residents to develop a plan for Ellicott City's beautification.

While the "Charrette" -- the day of planning -- cost nothing, the approximate value of the assembled talent exceeded $30,000.

In 1996, Columbia Rotary Club granted funds for committee members to plant the "Wall at St. Luke's Church."

The group -- using a grant from the Ellicott City Restoration Foundation -- also planted a historic district directional sign on Route 29.

With the support of the Federated Garden Clubs of Howard County, EC 225 launched the "Celebration Gardens" gardening competition.

Winners of the competition were announced Sept. 20 during Heritage Week.

The Howard County Garden Club won three awards, including first prize overall -- for the garden in front of the Southern States co-op on Frederick Road -- and first prize for a roadside sign -- the Historic District sign on Route 40 eastbound.

Jointly with the Branch and Twig Garden Club, Howard County Garden Club won first prize for the courtyard at the Antique Mall on Main Street.

First prize for cemetery entrance was given to Friends of the Whipps Cemetery on St. Johns Lane, south of Frederick Road.

Barbara Seig is the project director.

First prize for an intersection was given to Kathy Taylor of the Patapsco Heights/Church Road Association, whose work can be seen at Sylvan Lane and Church Road.

First prize for store entrance was given to Ed Lilley of the Christmas Co. for a flower bed on the side of his brick store.

First prize for small park was given to Frank R. DiPietro, who decorated the large Col. Powell's Rock, beside Ellicott's Country Store.

The Gray Rock Community Association won first prize for a community entrance at Church Road and Sylvan Lane.

Garden centers that made plants available included Metzler's, Glenwood, River Hill, Whittaker's, and Garland's, as well as Clark's and Sewell's hardware stores.

EC 225's co-sponsors include Gary Maule of the Ellicott City Restoration Foundation, Jerry Talbert of Historic Ellicott City Inc., Jack Whiteside of Commercial and Farmer's Bank, LDR International, and Jeff Bourne, John Byrd and the staff of the Department of Recreation and Parks.

This year's volunteers

The Howard County Volunteer of the Year Recognition Ceremony was held Sept. 25 at the George Howard Building.

Thirty-seven individuals and 15 community groups were nominated for the honor.

The following nominees, all from Ellicott City, donate their talents to the community:

Daniel Arnold, a tour guide at Ellicott City's B & O Railroad Museum, shares his enthusiasm with patients of the Ronald McDonald House and Kernan Hospital.

Don Bacon and Ed Hoy volunteer for the county's Office of Geographic Information Systems, creating maps showing addresses, landmarks, fire hydrants and water sources. The maps will be carried in emergency vehicles.

Karen Brewer began baking desserts for AIDS patients in 1989, and now coordinates more than 200 volunteer bakers in Howard County for Movable Feasts.

Ellen DeCaro helped revitalize Mount Hebron Presbyterian Church's Vacation Bible School. She teaches Sunday school and volunteers for PTA and swim team. She also helped start Northfield Elementary School's Young Gardener's Club.

Dorothy Dootson is a retired teacher who offered to teach English skills to Asian children in her community. Parents also asked for tutoring, so Dootson volunteers in an expanded program.

Eileen Emrich volunteers for Mount View Middle School as hospitality chairwoman. She goes the extra mile with special events and refreshments for school functions.

Debbie Miller volunteers for the American Cancer Society's Relay for Life, as well as for Habitat for Humanity, Christmas in April, and the United Way.

The winner of the volunteer group award was Our House, from Ellicott City.

Our House students have volunteered at soup kitchens, home repairs, and other services that aid the community.

Howard County's volunteer and volunteer group of 1997 will attend the state Volunteer of the Year awards ceremony.

Welcome, Rev. Moore

The members of Emory United Methodist Church in the Historic District of Ellicott City officially welcomed the Rev. L. Katherine Moore to the pulpit yesterday.

The 10: 30 a.m. service, conducted by the church's laity, was followed by a luncheon in the church fellowship hall.

Moore has been pastor at Emory since July.

A Maryland native, she graduated from Goucher College and Wesleyan University.

She has been a minister with churches in Harford and Baltimore counties for almost 20 years.

Moore's husband, Darryl Gill, is pastor of Aldersgate-Otterbein United Methodist Church in Hampden, Baltimore City.

The church is delighted with Katherine Moore.

"After 160 years and 51 clergymen with names like John, William, and Thomas, Emory is happy to welcome a Katherine," says member Roberta Davis.

Pub Date: 10/13/97

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.