Two orthodontists award four art scholarships


April 09, 1997|By Kathy Curtis | Kathy Curtis,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

AFTER TWO years of fund raising, two Dorsey's Search orthodontists have awarded art scholarships to four local high school students.

Dr. Wayne Hickory and Dr. Sandra Selnick presented the prizes at a reception Friday evening at their office.

The first-place ribbon and a $1,000 art scholarship were awarded to Glenelg High School senior Tonnie Warfield for her oil painting "Decisions."

The second-place ribbon and a scholarship award of $400 went to Wilde Lake High School senior Becky Potter for her still life "Bottles and Pumpkin."

An honorable mention and $150 were awarded to Mount Hebron High School senior Me Hae Kim for her work "Self Portrait."

Pat Ryan, also a senior at Mount Hebron, received a special award of $50 for his triptych "Metamorphosis." A triptych is a set of three side-by-side panels or compartments bearing pictures.

The paintings are on display through April 22 at the orthodontists' office at 5082 Dorsey Hall Drive, Suite 202.

Funds for the awards were raised through exhibits by local artists at the orthodontists' office. Each artist contributed 20 percent of sales from the exhibits to the scholarship fund.

The project was coordinated by Debra Jefferson.

Memorial service

A memorial service for the late Jean Odesky will be held at 3 p.m. Sunday at Clemens Crossing Elementary School.

Odesky taught kindergarten at the school for 17 years before her retirement last year.

As a lasting memorial, a Living Learning Center will be constructed outside the school.

Contributions for the center may be sent to the school.

Information: 410-313-6866.

Student to play solo

Ten-year-old Laura Hung, a student at Clemens Crossing Elementary School, will perform a piano solo in the Columbia Orchestra's spring concert, which will be at 2 p.m. Sunday in Smith Theatre at Howard Community College.

Tickets are $7 for adults; $5 for students and seniors. They are available in advance by calling 410-313-9735, or at the door.

Science fair prizes

Six Atholton High School students won awards in the high school division at the Baltimore Regional Science Fair, held last month at Towson State University.

The six are students of Marie A. Boston, who teaches science research.

First-place winner John Armstrong received a $100 scholarship for his project, "A Computer-Based Representation of the Artinian Braid Group."

Second-place winner Timothy Winters also received a $100 grant for his project, "Electrolyte Absorption and Structure of Crosslinked Polymers."

Certificates for honorable mention went to Sylvia Lin and Katherine Bryant for their joint project, and to Adam Severt and Ying Cao.

The students also received prizes from several professional societies.

John received the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics Award and the National Security Agency Math Education and Math Partnership Award.

David Buckingham received the University of Maryland Engineering Alumni Award.

Katherine and Sylvia won a third-place award from the Auxiliary Veterinary Association.

Adam received a certificate and $50 from the American Society for Quality Control.

The U.S. Army gave awards to Ying and Timothy. The American Chemical Society honored Ying with a certificate and Timothy with a plaque, a dinner and $100.

Honor society adds 87

Eighty-seven students will be inducted into the Wilde Lake High School chapter of the National Honor Society at a ceremony this evening at the school.

The honorees include O'Lisa Aber, Adrien Abrams, Preeta Babra, Charles Bailey, Suzanne Bailey, Emily Barth, Aaron Blum, Ed Cabic, Laura Cannon, Sina Chan, Allen Chen, Amanda Cohen, Junoh Choi, Laura Choi, Cory Cordero, Michelle DeGrange, Laura Douglas, Stephen Feddor, Kerry Fitzgerald and Troy Fitzgerald.

Also being honored are Evan Friss, Sarvin Ghavam, Lauren Gill, John Gu, Saby Guharay, Ritija Gupta, Lara Haase, Suzanne Hartman, Angie Hsieh, Diana Hufford, Laura Iliff, Sean Jefferson, Elizabeth Johnson, Erin Kaiser, Julie Kaplan, Mike Kayser, Andrew Kim, Bo Kim, Jin Ah Kim and Alicia Klein.

Also being inducted are Tom Kurzanski, Erika Lewis, Michelle Levender, Kimberly Longford, Charissa Manolopoulos, Chris Matheson, Megan McCarthy, Daniel McCormick, Cameron Meyer, Leah Mikkelson, Rachael Miles, Monica Modi, Shelia Mohammadzadeh, Kevin Morrison, Kurt Mueller, Andrea Nyland, Erica Pencak, Terra Peterson, Natalia Policelli and Jonathan Praff.

Inductees also include Jodi Richman, Deborah Riger, Michael Robb, Megan Roesch, Carolyn Rogers, Yoon Shin, Greg Siracusa, Michelle Smith, Grace Song, Jenny Stapleton, Kris Steinhoff, Kara Strauss, Emily Straw, Emily Tan, Lauryn Taubman, Courtney Turner, Katie Troutman, Le'Keshia Tyler, Beth Wade, Kristin Wallace, Nina Weiss, Nick Wexler, Bridget White, John Wynn, Joseph Yahr, Xiao Zheng and Levi Zwerling.

Pub Date: 4/09/97

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.