UM's Guzzio, Johnson of Owings Mills place fifth Team champ Iowa breaks its 1986 points record

March 23, 1997|By SPECIAL TO THE SUN

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- Jim Guzzio of the University of Maryland and Grant Johnson from Owings Mills, Md., earned All-America honors at the NCAA Division I wrestling championships this weekend.

Guzzio, a senior competing in the 134-pound class, lost his first ,, consolation-bracket match yesterday to Yero Washington of Fresno State, 10-8, in overtime.

In the next round, Guzzio (39-2) won the final match of his college career, defeating Joey Heckel of Arizona State, 7-6, to place fifth.

Boston University's Johnson, a three-time Maryland state champion, though seeded No. 10 at 177 pounds, split his matches yesterday and also placed fifth.

After falling to John Van Doren of Lehigh, 3-2, Johnson came back to pin John Koss of West Virginia in 2: 43.

In team competition, Iowa crowned five winners in yesterday's ,, title matches, enabling the three-time defending champion Hawkeyes to break their record for points.

The Hawkeyes, who have won three straight championships and six of the past seven, had six wrestlers in the finals. All but Mike Mena came away with victories to give Iowa 170 points, smashing the record of 158 points the Hawkeyes set in 1986.

Winners included Jessie Whitmer at 118 pounds, Mark Ironside at 134, Lincoln McIlravy at 150, Joe Williams at 158 and Lee Fullhart at 190.

"I have to give credit to my athletes because they're the ones that did it. They were really tough," Iowa coach Dan Gable said. "To do something like this is very unique."

Oklahoma State, which finished in second place with 113 1/2 points, had two champions in Eric Guerrero at 126 and Mark Branch at 167.

Others who won titles were Lock Haven's Cary Kolat at 142, Iowa State's Barry Weldon at 177 and heavyweight Kerry McCoy of Penn State.

Minnesota finished third with 71 points, followed by Iowa State (70), Lock Haven (54), Edinboro (45), Oklahoma (44 1/2 ), Cal-Bakersfield (43 1/2 ), Illinois (42 1/2 ) and Penn State (40).

Whitmer downed Illinois' Lindsey Durlacher, 5-4; Ironside beat Oklahoma State's Steven Schmidt, 10-4; McIlravy earned a 5-3 sudden-death decision over Iowa State's Chris Bono; Williams defeated Edinboro's Tony Robie, 5-3, to defend his title; and Fullhart downed defending champion John Kading of Oklahoma in a 4-3 tiebreaker.

Pub Date: 3/23/97

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.