1997 All-Metro boys basketball teams

March 22, 1997|By Derek Toney

Coach of the Year: Terry Leverett, Southwestern

2 Player of the Year: Mark Karcher, St. Frances

First team

Name, School, Year, Position

Demon Brown, Randallstown, Junior, Guard

Juan Dixon, Calvert Hall, Senior, Guard

Shawn Hampton, St. Frances, Junior, Center

Aaron Herbert, Calvert Hall, Senior, Guard

Mark Karcher, St. Frances, Senior, Forward

Michael King, Lake Clifton, Senior, Forward

Tim Lyles, Dunbar, Sophomore, Guard

Cornelius McMurray, Southwestern, Junior, Guard

Tony Ross, Arundel, Senior, Forward

John Williams, Broadneck, Senior, Forward

Second team

Brian Barber, Annapolis, Senior, Forward

Kevin Braswell, Lake Clifton, Junior, Guard

Darran Byrd, St. Frances, Senior, Forward

Robert Gray, Southwestern, Senior, Forward

Matt Laycock, Centennial, Senior, Forward

Dennard Melton, Severn, Junior, Guard

Charles Scott, Southern-Balt., Junior, Guard

Virgil Singleton, Edmondson, Senior, Guard

Dion Smith, Southwestern, Senior, Guard

Omar Smith, City, Senior, Guard

Team selection

The Baltimore Sun 1997 All-Metro boys basketball teams were selected by Derek Toney after consulting with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Pub Date: 3/22/97

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.