Ceccato sees 'return to glory' for Md. in Chesapeake Classic High Schools

March 20, 1997|By Lem Satterfield | Lem Satterfield,SUN STAFF

Referring to Maryland's 1-3 record against Northern Virginia in the annual Chesapeake Football Classic, Quince Orchard High coach Ernie Ceccato told those gathered before him: "This year, we're going to return to glory."

Ceccato, head coach of Team Maryland for the June 28 game, spoke at a news conference yesterday at the University of Maryland's Byrd Stadium, site of this year's game.

Ceccato, who won a state title at Quince Orchard in 1990, will head what amounts to an "A Team" of state coaches, a staff listing experience that includes 16 state titles.

Sherwood coach Bob Milloy, winner of a state-record eight state titles, will be in charge of the offense. Doug DuVall (Wilde Lake) will coach the defensive line and Dunbar assistant Ben Eaton the offensive line. Gwynn Park's Mike Cavallini has the defensive backs and Wheaton's Lee Branthover will handle the linebackers.

Area players chosen for the team include All-Metro Offensive Player of the Year Aaron Thompson (Mount St. Joseph, RB), and All-Metro Defensive Player of the Year Monte Graves (St. Mary's, LB).

Other area players selected include All-Metro first-teamers Tony Jackson (Wilde Lake, WR), Corey Wright (North County, WR), Lance Clelland (McDonogh, L), Antar Sims-El (Dunbar, L), Chris Fields (Severna Park, L) and second-teamer Lucas Phillips (Mount St. Joseph, QB).

Maryland Roster

Chuck Alston, DL, Central; Chad Bradley, RB, Damascus; Cordrea Brittingham, DB, Stephen Decatur; Duron Bryon, DB, Great Mills; Lance Clelland, OL, McDonogh; Rodrick Crestwell, DB, Potomac; Derwin Davis, DB, Largo; Jim Dingle, DL, Sherwood; Chris Fields, OL, Severna Park; Tyree Foreman, RB, Sherwood; Brian Gifford, TE, DeMatha; Sam Goines, LB, Eleanor Roosevelt; Monte Graves, LB, St. Mary's; Dan Holton, LB, Westlake; Tony Jackson, WR, Wilde Lake; Lamont Jordan, RB, Suitland; Bryan Lawrence, DL, Fairmount Heights; Willie Lewis, DL, DeMatha; Ken Lytle, OL, Potomac; Graham Manley, TE, Sherwood; Damien Miggins, WR, Sherwood; Tommie Mims, WR, Aberdeen; Mike Pearson, DB, McDonogh; Lucas Phillips, QB, Mt. St. Joseph; Steve Ray, LB, Wheaton; Evan Routzahn, OL, Middletown; Daryl Sanders, DL, Leonardtown; Anwar Sim-El, OL, Dunbar; Chris Snader, OL, Stephen Decatur; James Taswell, DL, Laurel; Scott Taylor, DL, Laurel; Aaron Thompson, LB, Mt. St. Joseph; Dominique Williams, QB, Gwynn Park; Corey Wright, WR, North County.

Pub Date: 3/20/97

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.