Westminster wins region in a laugher Owls pile up 159 points, Dulaney is distant second

March 02, 1997|By Jeff Seidel | Jeff Seidel,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

Westminster coach Henry Mohlhenrich wore ties covered with cartoon characters to both days of the Class 3A-4A North Region tournament at River Hill.

But opponents of his No. 4-ranked Owls didn't spend much time laughing.

Westminster put six wrestlers in the final round and came away with one championship as it had little trouble capturing a second straight region crown yesterday.

The Owls finished with 159 points, with Dulaney taking second with 115.5. Eastern Tech took third with 105.5 points.

Bobby Biden (112 pounds, 31-2 record) was the only champion for Westminster, as he took a 9-2 decision over Rich Reesey of Dundalk.

Grant Lindsay (119), Kyle Burger (125), Dave Spicer (135), Tim Sharkey (140) and Ray Henry (189) all placed second for the Owls.

Demetrios Gourgoulianis (31-2) of Eastern Tech pinned Lindsay at 4: 36.

Matt Bulloch (25-5) of Franklin did the same thing to Burger, making a quick move and pinning the Westminster wrestler at 2: 26. Mike Reilly (29-2) of C. M. Wright defeated Spicer, 7-4.

Sharkey was the Owls' biggest surprise. Seeded eighth and needing to get through a pigtail match to get into field, he pinned top seed Travis Williams of Dundalk in the quarterfinals.

The Westminster wrestler gave Tim Groszkowski of Franklin a fit in the finals, taking a 12-8 lead after two periods of a wild match. But Groszkowski (29-1) controlled the third period for a 15-12 decision.

Jamie Blankenship (33-0) of Eastern Tech nipped Henry, 6-5. Blankenship got an escape with 44 seconds left to break a 5-5 tie.

"Westminster is just a solid team," said Dulaney coach Pete Chakmakas. "They're hard-working, and they're aggressive."

Dulaney put two wrestlers in the finals and got one title, the pin from Bulloch. Chris Knox (103) also made the championship round, but a takedown with 12 seconds left gave Bel Air's Brad Stone a 5-3 victory.

Eastern Tech, winner of the Baltimore County tournament, had two championships. Gourgoulianis and Blankenship each won while teammate Hector Santana (160) lost to Matt Myrick (26-4) of Kenwood, 11-4.

Kenwood also had two champions. In addition to Myrick, Chuck Jones (130, 29-1) gave the Bluebirds a title with his 7-2 decision over county rival Nick Sidiropoulos from Perry Hall.

C. M. Wright also won two titles. In addition to Reilly, Chris Schneck (145, 24-4) got three back points at the buzzer for a 13-10 victory over Mike Muller of South Carroll.

Pub Date: 3/02/97

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.