Patterson piles up points, pins down championship Four Clippers take titles as team collects 261 points

February 23, 1997|By Jeff Seidel | Jeff Seidel,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

How dominant was Patterson in yesterday's Baltimore City Tournament at Poly? The Clippers put 10 wrestlers in the championship round and finished with four champions.

In addition, Patterson also had three wrestlers in the consolation finals with two taking third place.

All of this added up to 261 points for Patterson, far ahead of runner-up Southwestern (192.5). Poly took third with 163, followed by City (150).

Patterson was 13-0 in dual meets this season. The Clippers made giant strides last year, going 11-2 and finishing fourth in this tournament.

They did even better this year, clinching this tournament -- sponsored by the Jonathan Ogden Foundation -- early and winning for the first time in many years.

"We're trying to build a wrestling tradition," said Patterson coach Troy Stevenson. "We've been consistent all season."

Aaron Jones (119 pounds, 21-4 record), Lloyd Chavious (145, 17-1), Leonard Bridgeforth (171, 25-1) and heavyweight Claude Marrow (24-1) all came in first in their weight classes.

Defending champion Jones edged Dyn-Juan McNair of Mervo, 13-11, in overtime. Chavious scored eight third-period points for a wild 18-15 victory over City's Davon Fowler.

Bridgeforth pinned Wayne Frazier of Poly at 2: 46 seconds, and Marrow wrapped up the night by pinning Danyelle Jackson from Northern at 2: 10.

"We wanted it so badly," said Marrow, who won his third title. "We got a chance to prove ourselves today."

Thorn Brown of Walbrook (23-2) pinned Antonio Patterson of Patterson at 4: 42 in the 103-pound final. Charles Harris of Patterson fell to Southwestern's Corey Rideout (20-2) in the 125-pound final, 19-7, and Victor Ghee (Northern, 10-1) edged Patterson's Edward Kempa at 130 by 6-4.

Andre Wooden (135, 22-3) from Southwestern scored a technical fall over Patterson's Jimmy Walker.

Defending champion Dennis Perry of Dunbar (140, 13-2) followed with an 8-4 victory against Richard Johnson from Patterson.

Jermaine Haygood was the final Patterson wrestler to take second place. Southwestern's Marshall Duvall (15-1) pinned him just 29 seconds in the 160- pound championship.

"They were legitimate," said Southwestern coach Fred Bullock. "They wrestled like winners."

Aaron Saradpon (112) of Poly, City's Dominique Camper (152) and Rashaan Torian (189) from Mervo were the tournament's other winners.

Saradpon (18-6) won his third championship when he pinned Marvin Anderson of Carver at 3: 26. Camper (22-4) scored a 7-4 decision over Poly's Joe White, and Torian (21-2) defeated Desmond Foster of City, 7-1.

Pub Date: 2/23/97

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.