No. 2 Arundel cruising in its county tourney Owings Mills' Kessler runs win streak to 140 matches Lem Satterfield

February 22, 1997|By Jeff Seidel Aberdeen, Fallston set pace | Jeff Seidel Aberdeen, Fallston set pace,SUN STAFF

With a 52-point lead over Old Mill after last night's quarterfinals and semifinals, No. 2 Arundel appeared well on its way to defending its Anne Arundel County Wrestling Tournament crown in the 38th annual event at Chesapeake High.

For the Class 3A-4A state duals champion Wildcats, Pat Ortman (119), Brian Schroeder (125), Wayne Nichols (130), Graham Harris (140), Isaac Haertel (152), Rob Connolly (160) and Matt Neidig (171) all reached the finals.

Reaching the finals for No. 7 Old Mill, a nine-time tournament winner, were No. 5 Chris Combs (112), Chris Deadder (119), Rich Sampson (130), Gary Serago (135) and Dane Johnson (heavyweight).

Northeast's finalists are top seeds Bobby Couch (103) and Tyrone Eaton (145) and Tony Serio (189). Annapolis also has three finalists, with Andrew Hemminger (135), Gideon Lukens (140) and Nate Brooks (heavyweight).

Chesapeake's region champs No. 4 Carl Cicchetti (160) and Chad Duncan (171), along with Ryan Howard (125), reached the finals.

Dulaney has slim lead

Dulaney held a slim lead over defending champion and sixth-ranked Owings Mills after the quarterfinals of the Baltimore County Wrestling Tournament at Franklin.

The Lions stood in first place with 75 points, just three ahead of Owings Mills. The Golden Eagles -- two-time defending Class 1A-2A state champions -- are trying to win the county title for the third straight year and fourth time in five years.

Dulaney advanced seven wrestlers to today's semifinals, and Owings Mills has six.

None of the Dulaney wrestlers took county titles last year, but both Steve Kessler (152) and heavyweight Anthony Smith hope to repeat for Owings Mills.

Kessler won with two first-period pins yesterday and improved his record to 30-0 this season, with 27 pins. The Owings Mills senior improved his career record to 140-0 and will chase his fourth county crown today.

Aberdeen, seeking its 13th consecutive Harford County Wrestling Tournament championship, and Fallston each advanced 10 wrestlers through the championship quarterfinals in the 28th annual tournament at Joppatowne High School last night.

All eight returning champions from a year ago made it through, but at least two will not repeat, as there are two likely head-to-head matches looming in tonight's championships.

James Axel of Aberdeen, a runner-up and a winner at 112 the last two years, is now at 125, as is North Harford's Rick Desper, who won at 119 a year ago.

Mike Reilly (125) of C. Milton Wright and Glen Folck (130) of North Harford are still in contention at 135.

The other holdovers in the semifinals are Joe Ercolano of Fallston at 140; Tim Smallwood of Bel Air, 152; Gary Simms, Aberdeen, 189, and Steve Voelker, Fallston's heavyweight.

A potential Fallston winner never made it to the mat. Freshman Kip Fields (103), who had a 17-0 record and a No. 5 state ranking, was declared academically ineligible last week.


John W. Stewart

Hammond leads in Howard

All six defending county champions advanced, and Hammond led runner-up Oakland Mills, 69-44, after yesterday's 28th annual Howard County Wrestling Tournament championship bracket quarterfinal matches at Hammond.

Josh Zillmer of Hammond at 142 pounds and Jeremy Lignelli (162) of Glenelg, each seeking to become a four-time county champion, advanced to the semifinals. Zillmer pinned Eric Holzman of Centennial in 1: 44, and Lignelli pinned Mount Hebron's Matt Helbig in 3: 50.

Zillmer takes on Glenelg's Peter Bourg in his semifinal bout, and Lignelli goes against Michael Hadad of River Hill.

Three wrestlers seeking undefeated seasons, Jimmy O'Connor of Glenelg at 137 pounds, Kevin Ferguson of Glenelg at 173 pounds and heavyweight Brian Neal of Howard, advanced to the semifinals on byes.

In the semifinals today, Neal faces Jason Frizzelle of Oakland Mills, Ferguson faces Mikal Baaqee of River Hill and O'Connor faces Yeoshen Tsui of Centennial.

In addition to O'Connor, Zillmer, Lignelli and Neal, others seeking repeat titles are Hammond's Vaymond Dennis (114) and Jared Zillmer (121).

Rick Belz

Pub Date: 2/22/97

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.