Global Business Challenge accepts Oakland Mills High team


February 11, 1997|By Natalie Harvey | Natalie Harvey,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

THIS IS an alert for corporate presidents and CEOs: Be prepared for applicants from Oakland Mills High School.

Teacher Diane Ferary is grooming her Introduction to Business students to be entrepreneurs.

Each day, students arrive with notes on business trends, the status of the national economy and the closing Dow Jones industrials average.

After weeks of preparation, class members were notified that they have been accepted as participants in the Hewlett-Packard Global Business Challenge.

Students will compete worldwide in the competition -- making decisions affecting the bottom line of computer-simulated businesses.

Teams will determine the production, marketing, research and development and pricing of a fictional product for a fictional company.

Each team's answers will be sent via e-mail to a processing center in Cambridge, Mass.

Incidentally, the Oakland Mills entrepreneurs selected "FANAFI" -- an acronym for "Find A Need And Fill It" -- as their class motto.

Eight of the 1,000 teams expected to participate will travel to Hewlett-Packard's facilities in Tokyo for a playoff round in September.

Young artists

Stevens Forest's first- and second-graders have their drawings of dinosaurs and owls on display in the shopping center of the Oakland Mills Village this month.

The artists are Brandon Roberts, Karen Johnston, Zack Soesbee, Sarah Dunbar, Cody Schaefer, Katy Stanley, Lauren Kaufman, Clayton Werner, Amber Rattley, Zahra Lakhani, Brett Elliott, Timothy Shu, Taylor Bare, Karlie Hart and Brad Fratini.

Stop and see their artwork.

Athletes, musicians

Long Reach High's Jason Kaufman has received a gold medal for his efforts as a member of the Hawks, the Howard County Special Olympics team selected to participate in the Emmitsburg tournament.

The freshman, whose life centers on sports, proudly accepted his award from Cal Ripken Sr.

Special Olympics provides opportunities for disabled young athletes.

Long Reach High's wide receiver Willy Bhatia was named to Howard's All-County football team.

Next year, he hopes to improve his skills and defend his All-County position.

In another athletic direction, Stevens Forest fifth-grader Jon Calogero received his black belt in karate.

Phelps Luck's Sarah Brown, Geoffrey Quintern, Florencia Vasta and Jeff Williams have been selected to be members of the 1997 Howard County Gifted and Talented Band.

New ways to play

"New Ways To Play and Violent Toy Turn-in" -- from 1: 30 p.m. to 4: 40 p.m. Sunday at Oakland Mills Interfaith Center, in Oakland Mills village -- will be an enjoyable afternoon and free, too.

Encouraging everyone to focus on decreasing violence is the focus of the afternoon, which is sponsored by Columbia United Christian Church, as part of Howard County's Focus on Peace Week.

Ten play stations will provide a variety of cooperative, nonviolent play opportunities. Children may also bring their personal Peace Poster (8 1/2 -by-11 inches or larger), which will be included in an exhibit at the interfaith center and may win a prize.

On another wall will be an exhibit of Israeli children's peace art, which John ("The Kinderman") Taylor collected while performing in Israel.

Scott Van Dam will demonstrate nonviolent tai chi, Kim Daily's Daisy the Clown will bring giggles and smiles, and Emma Byrne will read stories.

The "Scales and Tails" demonstration by a Maryland Park Ranger from the Maryland Department of Natural Resources will feature live creatures with the requisite scales and tails.

Children will be asked to sign a Peacemaker pledge, which encourages them to solve problems by nonviolent means.

Free ice cream, gifts and discounts are being donated by Learningsmith, World of Science, Zany Brainy, Nature Nook, the Wild Bird Center and McDonald's at Harper's Choice and U.S. 40.

Merle Forney is chair of the program, with assistance from Sue Nicholson and Carrie Sanders .

Call (301) 572-5103 or 997-0692 for information.

Donations needed

Families and friends of Phelps Luck students, please note: Gifted and talented teacher Jan Brudzinski is in need of items to begin a Type III investigation project -- raising sea horses.

She needs a 10- or 15-gallon aquarium (like the one taking up space in your basement or garage), an aquarium heater, a filter and a thermometer.

Sea horses' favorite occupation is eating, so you may want to inquire if food is needed.

Any of the above items may be delivered to the school office.

Call 313-6889.

Stevens Forest school news

Girls in grades 1-3 are invited to join Brownie Troop 1522, which meets at 7 p.m. Tuesdays at Stevens Forest Elementary.

Information: 997-5807.

Stevens Forest School has named its January Super Stars who "Joined Together For A New Start."

Cherry team stars were Natalie Stuppard, Liam Cummins, Caitlin Murray, Leah Pekofsky, Jenny Fettweiss, Drew Preston, Rachel Bender, Ann Grandfield, Sammy Beyers, Aaron Mogren, Daniel Gaskill and Jessica Williams-Hall.

Tulip stars were Bryonny Rogers, Brian Widmayer, Jim Grandfield, Steven Flowers, Sean Slater, Matthew Mathews, Adrian McGadney, Jerome Salter, Brandon Kitchelt, Laura Gaeng, Mark Schiffer and Casey Wilson.

Oak's stars were Gina Teranto, Jessica Bhuller, Aron Archer, Shaniqua Young, Safa Griffith, Erik Wells, Michelle Estabrook, Kelly Walbert, Bradley Fratini, Matt Buonato, Kevin Pie and Sia Henry.

Dogwood stars were Emma McDonnell, Liz Bieber, Chetan Mehta, Beth Harding, Zachary Lyon, Heidi Rademacher, Patrice Dove, Joshua Wilson, Daniel Styker, Chris Elliott, Mandy Wilson, Claudette Bellony, Sara Smith, Amanda Thiem, Mirza Baig and Trevor Hawkes.

Sassafras stars were Jon Bellora, Tim Ball, Christina Boussy-Smith, Evan Hartranft, Jenna Berge, Karan Chopra, Stephen Rogers, Brandon Sommerville, Alethia Young, Brian Hamilton, Kim Frederick and Chris Jackson.

Pub Date: 2/11/97

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.