Fire department honors firefighters at Winfield event

February 04, 1997

The Winfield Community Volunteer Fire Department designated Rodney Valentine "Firefighter of the Year" and Kristi Wilson "Rookie of the Year" for 1996 at its annual banquet.

Tim Warner, fire chief from 1988 to 1996, and Scott Dayhoff, treasurer from 1984 to 1996, were given awards for service and dedication.

Howard Legore was honored for being given a volunteer award from the state. Ronnie Legore was recognized for being dinner chairman for five years and carnival chairman for nine years.

Certificates of appreciation were given to Debbie Gartrell for fire prevention; Mark Davis for in-house training; and Wayne Logue, Greg Dods, Mike Fogle, Barry Cullop, Tim Warner and Dave Bettinger for their work in obtaining and maintaining fire equipment.

The top fire responders were: Tim Warner, Tim Legore, Eddie Zepp, Rodney Valentine, Ronnie Legore, Dean Zepp, Dave Bettinger, Greg Dods, Kevin Warner, Mark Davis.

The top ambulance responders were Dave Bettinger, Rodney Valentine, Robin Lamb, Mike Fogle, Shawn Schneider, Mark Davis, Greg Dods, Scott Legore, Barry Cullop and Frank Grimes.


Mount Airy: Firefighters from Lisbon in Howard County assisted Mount Airy at 12: 38 a.m. Saturday, responding to a chimney fire in the 6600 block of Christy Acres Circle. Units were out 41 minutes.

Pub Date: 2/04/97

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.