Preseason Top 15 Local Sports: Wrestling Previews

December 05, 1996

1. Owings Mills (No. 1 last season): Two-time champions' seven state qualifiers include three-time champ Steve Kessler (152, 109-0), Ari Dolid (145, runner-up), Drew Bowers (135, fourth states), region champs Steve Kellner (125) and Anthony Smith (heavyweight)

2. Mount St. Joseph (2): Dan Mattson (145), Kyle Chiaverrini (125), Mike Schaal (152) led recent upset of state champion DeMatha.

3. Hammond (3): The Class 1A-2A duals champs return county tri-champ Josh Zillmer (145), county champs Jared Zillmer (119) and Vaymond Dennis (112), and Tim McGrail (160, fourth states).

4. Westminster (8): Back are county champs Jimmy Reiter (112), Bobby Biden (119), Grant Lindsay (125), and runners-up Dave Spicer (135), Austin Lanham (152) and Ray Henry (189, fourth states).

5. Francis Scott Key (4): Bill Hyson's Class 1A-2A dual runners-up return eight with Mark Mandell (112, first region), Tim Beale (140, first county), Bob Bollinger (189, second region) and Matt Yinger (125, 19-1).

6. Aberdeen (11): Champs J. W. Shaffer (119) and James Axel (125, region champ) lead eight county place-winners.

7. Curley (6): Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association champs Mike Boettcher (135, first state) and Sal Aquia (160), and Paul Boettcher (125, 16 pins) lead.

8. Arundel (7): Anne Arundel's champions and Class 3A-4A duals semifinalists have six county finishers and two-time state runner-up Isaac Haertel (152).

9. Boys' Latin (unranked): National Prep runner-up Jason Leneau (160, 29-1, first state) is among nine returnees.

10. Broadneck (14): First-year coach Andy Claxton, a 1988 Bruins state champion, returns eight.

11. Northeast (10): Tyrone Eaton (160, third county, region), James Fleming (112, third region) and junior league champion James Bowman (152) lead.

12. Kenwood (unranked): Seven starters include Chuck Jones (130, second states) and Brian Mallory (189, second region).

13. North Carroll (unranked): County champs Ben Fleming (heavyweight) and Damian Davis (130) are back.

14. Old Mill (unranked): Gary Serago (140, second region) and county champs Rich Sampson (135) and Chris Combs (112) return.

15. Southwestern (15): Region runners-up and two-time city champions boast six city place-winners.

Pub Date: 12/05/96

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.