1996 All-Metro field hockey teams

November 26, 1996|By Katherine Dunn

Coaches of the Year

Brenda Baker and Sue Hooper, Westminster: What better way to rebuild than to win a state title? That's exactly what the No. 1-ranked Owls (16-0-1) did this season with an entirely new starting cast from last year's state semifinal team. Their 2-1 victory over then-No. 1 Severna Park, winners of the previous four Class 4A state crowns, gave Westminster its fifth state championship. Baker and Hooper knew this group -- nine juniors, one sophomore and only five seniors -- had plenty of talent. The majority of underclassmen had never lost a match at the junior varsity level. The question going into the season was how they would respond at the higher level. The answer: a second straight unbeaten regular season (11-0-1) and, even more impressive, four straight come-from-behind wins in the postseason, closing with Linnea Pagulayan's overtime goal to beat Severna Park. "It was a coach's dream for us," said Baker. "We didn't know what to expect coming in. We knew they had the ability to play good solid hockey. As the season wore on, you could see how they didn't let things rattle them. They didn't let emotions get into the game and that was evident in the state final. They just felt they've been through it before and finished on top, so they could do it again." The foundation Hooper and Baker have set throughout the years has brought on a tradition at Westminster that does not include rebuilding years. "This team set a direction of where they wanted to go, strived for it and worked hard for it," said Hooper, who guided the Owls to their first state crown in 1976.

Player of the Year: Sarah Oglesby, St. Paul's

Coaches of the Year: Brenda Baker and Sue Hooper, Westminster


Name, School, Year, Position

Kelly Dodson, Mount Hebron, Senior, Forward

Mills Hook, St. Paul's, Senior, Forward

Amy Noble, Severna Park, Senior, Forward

Linnea Pagulayan, Westminster, Senior, Forward

Kim Smith, Bryn Mawr, Junior, Forward

Bess Freedlander, Severn ,Senior, Midfield

Sara Herman, McDonogh, Junior, Midfield

Sarah Oglesby, St. Paul's, Senior, Midfield

Kate Simon, Fallston, Junior, Midfield

Jenn Dunham, Severna Park, Senior, Defense

Devin Fitzpatrick, Garrison Forest, Senior, Defense

Stephanie Levin, Westminster, Senior, Defense

Carrie Wirth, Fallston, Junior, Defense

Becky Bosley, North Carroll, Senior, Goalie


Natalie Brookman, St. Mary's, Senior, Forward

Kristin Crawford, Severna Park, Senior, Forward

Lisa Duke, Westminster, Junior, Forward

Alli Harper, Roland Park, Senior, Forward

Lauren Hancock, Severna Park, Senior, Midfield

Kate Kaiser, Notre Dame Prep, Junior, Midfield

Kim Rohrs, Joppatowne, Senior, Midfield

Susan Mancho, Howard, Senior, Midfield

Hilary Polk-Williams, St. Paul's, Sophomore, Midfield

Ryane Bellarin, Chesapeake-AA, Senior, Defense

Amy Galebach, Severn, Senior, Defense

Gailor Large, Bryn Mawr, Senior, Defense

Carli Harris, Westminster, Junior, Defense

Rebecca Shapiro, Park, Junior, Goalie

Final Poll

1. Westminster (16-0-1)

2. St. Paul's (11-0-5)

3. Fallston (15-1-1)

4. Severna Park (15-2)

5. Bryn Mawr (11-2-4)

6. Roland Park (12-2-3)

7. Notre Dame Prep (8-2-4)

8. Severn (8-4-6)

9. McDonogh (10-3-5)

10. Centennial (11-3-2)

11. Garrison Forest (7-4-5)

12. North Carroll (9-3-1)

13. St. Mary's (14-5-1)

14. Mount Hebron (10-1-2)

15. Francis Scott Key (10-5-1)

Other teams considered: Chesapeake-AA (10-3-2), Dulaney (11-4-1), Friends (6-5-6), Hereford (13-3), Howard (10-4-1), Liberty Team selection

The Sun's 1996 All-Metro field hockey teams were selected by The Sun staff after consulting with area coaches. The capsules and charts were compiled by Katherine Dunn

Pub Date: 11/26/96

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.