Improvement association to elect officers and board


November 13, 1996|By Bonita Formwalt | Bonita Formwalt,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

THE ELECTION of officers and board of governors tops the agenda of a meeting of the Point Pleasant-Shoreland Improvement Association at 7: 30 p.m. tomorrow at the Church of the Good Shepherd, 1451 Furnace Ave.

The nominees are Robert Everhart, president; Mike Williams, vice JTC president; Linda Schanne, recording secretary; Karen Pappas, financial secretary; Dee McPheron, treasurer.

Nominees for the Board of Governors are Leo Brukiewa, Julie Forney, Joyce Sheibe, Joan Valenti, Marge Cary, Doris Heinl, Edward Trott and Bud Valenti.

After the elections, Clyde King, director of traffic services with the Safety Council of Maryland will discuss drugs, alcohol and safe driving.

Members are reminded to reserve a space for children and grandchildren 12 and under for the association's annual Christmas party from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. Dec. 7 at Good Shepherd.

Information: Joan Valenti, 766-4310.

'Sherlock Holmes'

What offers wit, suspense, romance and intrigue? Elementary, my dear Watson. "Sherlock Holmes," a two-act play performed by the Glen Burnie High School drama department at 7 p.m. tomorrow, Friday and Saturday.

Tim Kelly's adaptation of the classic stage comedy by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and William Gillette finds the master of deduction challenged to solve a mystery and avert a world war.

Billy Fisher stars as Holmes, with Ben McFerron as his nemesis, Moriarty. Donna Lupinos is Alice, and Justin Fox is Dr. Watson.

Other members of the cast are Debbie Anthony, Randi Davis, Jessica DeWitt, Dustin Eggerman, Jessica Eves, Sherry Fields, Mark Hagood, Mandy Herrman, Krista Hockreiter, Christina Jaromin, Tim Johnson, Carrie Kiessling, Fred Kirchner, Michael Knipp, Michale Meadors, Ed Middlebrooks, Jessica Mitten, Catrina Myers, Vel Prater, Brandon Renninger, Rob Sauer, Carla Short, Alli Stillman, Anne Stull, Patty Teakle, Kevin Templeton, Andrea Tester, Kathie Wilson, Sue Yancey and Maria Zanti.

The play is directed by drama teacher Bill Smith with the assistance of Pat Baca as technical director.

Tickets are $4 and are available at the box office of the drama studio.

Information: 761-8950.

Book signing

Four Maryland authors will be featured at a book signing from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday at the Kuethe Library, 5 Crain Highway, S.E.

A joint effort of the Anne Arrundell County Historical and Genealogical societies, the event showcases the work of Emily Murphy, Eric Mills, Jerry Hynson and J. Wesley Clark.

Murphy, a 1995 graduate of St. John's College, will discuss her book, "A Complete and Generous Education: 300 Years of Liberal Arts at St. Johns College, Annapolis."

"Chesapeake Bay in the Civil War" is the topic of a book by Eric Mills. Born in Baltimore, Mills now lives on the Eastern Shore where he writes regularly on regional history.

Jerry Hynson's "Manumission Record for Anne Arundel County" is the first in a series of books the Westminster resident has planned on the topic.

"Asleep With Whippoorwills" is the second volume of poetry by J. Wesley Clark, an Annapolis businessman, bibliophile and poet.

Copies of each book will be available for purchase and autographed with personalized inscriptions by the author.

Information: Betty deKeyser, 437-8665.

Pub Date: 11/13/96

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.