BaseballDevil Rays: Signed four-year working agreement...


September 18, 1996


Devil Rays: Signed four-year working agreement with Charleston, S.C., of Single-A South Atlantic League.


Chargers: Signed TE Werner Hippler to practice squad. Released G Matt Brown and DT Junior Soli from practice squad.

Falcons: Signed OL Robbie Tobeck to three-year contract extension.

Jaguars: Signed CB Rashid Gayle to the practice squad.

Tiger-Cats (CFL): Acquired RB Mike Saunders from Montreal Alouettes for future considerations.


Blazers: Aleksandar Djordjevic, a point guard who helped Yugoslavia win a silver medal at Atlanta, said he will sign a contract with Portland next week.


Bruins: Sent G Evgeny Ryabchikov, G Paxton Schafer, D Bob Beers, D John Gruden, D Mark Cornforth, D Yevgeny Shaldybin, D Milt Mastad, D Doug Wood, C Bill McCauley, LW Kevin Sawyer, LW Tim Sweeney, LW Andre Roy, LW Brett Harkins, LW P.C. Drouin, RW Jay Moser, RW Scott Kirton and RW Kirk Nielsen to AHL Providence, and D Jonathan Aitken to WHL Medicine Hat.

Oilers: Agreed to terms with LW Dean McAmmond and D Donald Dufresne on two-year contracts.

Maple Leafs: Sent F Mark Deyell, F Shayne Toporowski, F Zdenek Nedved, F Brian Wiseman and F John Craighead to AHL St. John's.

Panthers: Sent D Dan Ratushny, D Craig Paterson, D Filip Kuba, RW Ashley Buckberger, RW Jamie Linden, LW Chad Cabana, C Herbert Vasilyev and G David Lemanowicz to AHL Carolina.

Sabres: Reassigned Fs Daniel Bienvenue, Matt Davidson, Ryan Davis, Mark Dutiaume, Denis Hamel, Francois Methot, Darren Mortier, Brian Scott, Martin Spanhel, Darren VanOene, Kurt Walsh and Mike Zanutto; Ds Jean-Luc GrandPierre, Maike Martone, Marian Menhart and Cory Sarich; and G Scott Buhler to their junior clubs.


WTA Tour Players Association: Announced resignation of Karen Feldman, executive director, effective at end of September.


Hofstra: Named Reggie Jackson baseball coach.

Johns Hopkins: Troy Dell, 1995 graduate of Gettysburg, was named head coach of wrestling team. Over four years as wrestler, he amassed 92-52-1 record with 19 pins and 17 technical fouls.

Kansas: Announced basketball C Travis Williams has been medically disqualified.

NCAA: Named David T. Braine chair of special events committee, Charles Gordon and Bob Livingstone chair of men's and women's golf committee and Mark Kostek chair of men's and women's track committee. Extended term of R. C. Johnson on communications committee.

Northern Iowa: Suspended RB Jeff Stovall for Iowa State game for shoplifting.

Towson State: Freshman hitter Lyssa Pershing was named America East volleyball Rookie of the Week after leading Towson to championship of Tiger Classic tournament last weekend with 22 kills and 26 digs in three matches.

Pub Date: 9/18/96

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.