Wilde Lake meeting will look toward the future


August 28, 1996|By Kathy Curtis | Kathy Curtis,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

"Wilde Lake Village Center: Looking to the Future" will be the topic of the next Wilde Lake town meeting, to be held at 7: 30 p.m. Sept. 5 at Slayton House. Speaking at the meeting will be Wayne Christmann, general manager of Columbia's village centers; Steve Girard, president of the Wilde Lake Merchants Association, and Henry Eigles, a member of the Wilde Lake Revitalization Steering Committee.

The village center, Columbia's oldest, "is a bit stale," noted Eigles, a Wilde Lake resident since 1968. He said that suggestions for improvement include expanding the Giant Food store, adding tables to Produce Galore and the Bagel Bin, and filling vacant spaces with a hardware store, a shoe repair shop or an ice cream parlor.

"What we're trying to do," said Eigles, "is to work with the Rouse Company to bring in merchants that the residents are interested in having."

The Sept. 5 town meeting is the sixth in a series sponsored by the village's revitalization committee. Previous topics included education, crime and real estate values.

The committee is eager to hear from residents. Anyone who needs a ride, or who can provide transportation, is asked to call Slayton House at 730-3987.

Atholton scholars

Principal Roger Plunkett has announced the Maryland Distinguished Scholars for the Class of 1997 at Atholton High School.

In the achievement category, the finalists are David Buckingham, Hua Wei Cherng, Aimee Koch and Margaret Sheer. Semi-finalists are Kelly Fox, Benjamin Mowery, Jinu Rhee, Adam Severt and Jason Ukman.

The following received honorable mention: Samuel Alcaine, Shamsaad Ali, Konrad Aschenbach, Brian Barth, Ying Cao, Melanie Chang, Jason Cornelius, Mackenzie Cross, Michelle Crotts, Melissa Edwards, Brian Frisvold, Heather Gilbertson, Eric Goldscher, Chelsea Hartz, Marisa Higdon and Joshua Hollander.

Also Desmond Kaplan, Amie Kershbaum, Shaena Krueger, Daniel Kurland, Sylvia Lin, Bryan Loeffler, Holly Maggio, Amy Peters, Michelle Rivera, Jessica Robuck, Jennifer Rogers, Janelle Rosip, Scott Sabot, Eric Schwartz, Erin Shaw, David Simonson, Laura Smith, Ryan Sullivan, Sean Williams and Jaeshin Yoo.

All these students scored at least 1200 on the Scholastic Achievement Test and have a grade point average of at least 3.7.

In the talent category, Aimee Koch was a finalist in visual arts. Receiving an honorable mention were Brian Barth and Steven Pieper, instrumental music, and Diane Griffin and Margaret Sheer, drama. These students were judged on either a performance or a portfolio of work.

River Hill slowdown

Four residents of River Hill will be one of the first groups in the county to receive training from the Howard County Police for SMART -- Speed Monitoring and Awareness Radar Team.

The police department recently bought equipment that can be borrowed by citizen groups and set up on neighborhood streets to monitor traffic speed. The device registers a car's speed and flashes it on a board. It can also record speed data, which can be turned over to the police to help determine which areas need further action.

Police spokesman Sgt. Steven Keller stressed that citizens using the equipment would have no enforcement power.

SMART was one of the options for reducing speeds in River Hill that were discussed last week at a meeting organized by Kayle Simon, a Pointers Run resident who recently joined the village board.

Adults can dance, too

As summer winds down, the village centers are gearing up for dance classes.

Ballroom and swing dancing will be offered on Fridays for eight weeks beginning Sept. 6 at Linden Hall. The ballroom class meets from 7 to 8: 30 p.m.; the cost for lien payers is $80. Swing dancing will follow from 8: 45 to 9: 45 p.m.; the cost is $50. Call 730-4005 for details.

Pub Date: 8/28/96

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.