Gunther's goes after CABA repeat

August 08, 1996|By Steven Kivinski | Steven Kivinski,CONTRIBUTING WRITER

Kurt Light said he loves his team's chances of repeating as champions at this week's Continental Amateur Baseball Association 18-and-under World Series in Columbus, Ohio. But, like the rest of his teammates on Gunther's Little Orioles, the hard-throwing right-hander is well aware of the tough road that is ahead.

"We'll have to face every team's ace because we're the defending champs," said Light, a two-time All-Metro performer from Arundel High who will have to leave the tournament after the round-robin round to attend the Adidas Area Code Games in Long Beach, Calif. "We have some real good hitting, and we're real deep in pitching. We'll enjoy the challenge of trying to repeat."

Light, who will be a senior at Arundel, helped the Little Orioles advance to their 10th straight CABA World Series by going 6-2 this season with a 3.11 ERA. He, along with fellow starters Ryan Fleetwood (4-1, 1.14), Mike Ziegler (7-2, 3.00) and Adam Harman (3-1, 2.17), will try to assist the Maryland team in getting through round-robin play and into the double-elimination championship round, which begins Tuesday and culminates with the finals next Thursday at Ohio State.

The Little Orioles (42-10), the Metro League East Division champs the past three years, open the tournament against the Wisconsin Power at 8 a.m. tomorrow at Reynoldsburg Huber Park. The top eight teams from each of the two divisions will then advance to the championship round -- something the Little Orioles have done in each of their past nine appearances.

Scott Taylor, an All-Metro third baseman from Edgewood leads the Little Orioles in batting average (.433), hits (42), RBIs (39) and home runs (12). Fleetwood, who also plays shortstop and third, is the team's second leading hitter with a .405 average.

Pub Date: 8/07/96

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.