Two men are indicted in Bowie teen's slaying Landover pair in prison after convictions in Ga.

July 23, 1996|By Dennis O'Brien | Dennis O'Brien,SUN STAFF

An Anne Arundel County grand jury indicted two Landover men yesterday in the slaying of a Bowie teen-ager who was shot outside a Crofton pool hall in March 1995.

Rueben L. Williams, 21, of the 1700 block of Countrywood Court, and Joseph L. Stewart, 21, of the 6900 block of Hawthorne St., were indicted on charges of first-degree murder, attempted armed robbery and handgun vioations yesterday in the death of Catherine E. Webster.

Webster, 16, of the 14000 block of Lancaster Lane, was shot in the back of the head shortly after 11 p.m. March 20, 1995, as the 1988 Nissan 300 SX in which she was riding sped away from a gunman in what appeared to be a carjacking attempt near Crofton Billiards in the 2100 block of Priest Bridge Drive. She died several hours later at Prince George's Hospital Center.

The driver of the car, Robert Saunders, 19, was slightly wounded when a bullet grazed his right side, police said.

The Anne Arundel County state's attorney's office refused to say what linked the defendants to the crime. A spokeswoman said they were arrested in Georgia a few weeks after the shooting in connection with a series of robberies there. Both pleaded guilty to firearms and conspiracy charges in U.S. District Court in Atlanta and are serving lengthy terms in federal facilities.

It is the second time someone has been charged in the killing.

Police charged a 19-year-old Annapolis man about two weeks after the killing when he was identified by a witness in a photo lineup but State's Attorney Frank R. Weathersbee dropped the charges June 19, 1995.

An airline flight attendant and her son convinced prosecutors the suspect was at their home in Springfield, Va., watching family videos on the night of the murder.

Pub Date: 7/23/96

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.