Victims of last week's fire thank rescue teams


July 16, 1996|By Natalie Harvey | Natalie Harvey,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

AUTUMN CREST Apartments manager Maureen Melham and residents of the complex want to express a sincere "thank you" to the career and volunteer firefighters of the Howard County Fire and Rescue Services, to the Howard County Police Department, the Red Cross representatives and the crew of Minkoff Corp. for their professional and prompt response to last week's fire in the complex.

Lightning struck the building and started the fire. Within minutes the Savage station firefighters arrived, and multiple fire units were called in from all of Howard County to fight the fire. Howard County Volunteer chaplain George Grimms was on the scene with constant update of helpful information. Luckily, no one was injured, and occupants of the 12 apartments were accommodated at the Columbia Inn until housing was found the next day.

Troop 75 honors

Boy Scout Troop 75 held its spring Court of Honor at Christ Memorial Presbyterian Church, the troop's charter organization.

Scoutmaster Pat Roth presented rank advancements to Tim Blasi, Jesse Cameron, Chris Jordan, Joseph Keller, Stephen Levay, Corey Loftus, Jonathan Marker, David Morgan, Bradley Rahal, EJ Rodriguez and Jim Sanders.

Tim Blasi and Charlie Vorsteg received Tenderfoot rank; Phil Jenkins and Andrew Rabinowitz earned Second Class; and Ricky Leshin advanced to First Class. Ricky also received the Bronze Medal Award for completing all First Class requirements.

Star rank was presented to Greg Schivley, Matt Murphy and Paul Klink; Joe Blasi and Jeremy Miller earned Life rank.

Jonathan Leshin and Aaron McWethy earned interpreter designations in French.

Congratulations to the Scouts, their scoutmaster and Assistant Scoutmasters Dick Barnes, Tom Cooley, Tom Fulcher, Bruce Johnson, Joel Kennedy, Martin Leshin, Tom Loughran and Stan Ward.

Troop committee members are Bill Murphy, chair; Janet Schivley, advancement; Don Larsen, treasurer; Regina Clark, secretary; David Moore, fund-raising; Karen Levay, transportation; Paul Klink, quartermaster adviser; Joyce Moore, uniform exchange; Sue Leshin, new parent liaison; Karen Oltmanns, family friends of Scouting and Barbara Thomas, Eagle court of honor coordinator.

Benefit golf fund-raiser

Play golf for a good cause July 22 at Wakefield Valley Golf Club in Westminster.

Members of St. John the Evangelist parish and all golfers are invited to the fund-raiser to defray the medical expenses of Bill Martinez, who is undergoing a bone marrow transplant in Seattle.

A noon shotgun start is planned, with a dinner at 5: 30 p.m. Dinner is $35; golf combination is $125, and that includes golf with a cart, prizes, drinks, dinner and, most of all, support for Bill.

Call 796-7050, 796-6431, 964-1912 or (410) 727-2131 today.

Community volunteers

Kings Contrivance Village Manager Anne Dodd sends a special thank you to Community Service Day volunteers Janet, Kent Littleton and Lana Riggins; Geoff and Ben Glaspie; Chuck Rees and Guy Guzzone, Kings Contrivance Board members; Albert Velazquez; Kevin Anders; Barbara, Phillip, Kevin and Allison Rose; Alan, Pearl and Ross Seidman; Jack and Patrick Griffin.

School citizens

School is out, but there are still honors to be mentioned.

Assistant Principal Marion Miller has announced the names of recent Jeffers Hill Elementary Citizens of the Week: Shannon Rogan and Justin Sottilare, kindergarten; Paul Mackessy and Akhtab Lohani, first grade; Elissa Earles and Nina Orlando, second grade; Greg Salvucci and Kristen Hux, third grade; Dana Shepherd and Shelly Bell, fourth grade; Jason Ligon and Giovanni Faudale, fifth grade.

June Citizens of the Month and their teachers at Stevens Forest Elementary were Matthew Calogero and Michelle Nolan -- teacher, JoAnne Mezie; Melinda Sanders -- teacher, Kathy Neville; Matt Buonato and Beau Reeves -- teacher, Judy Gottsagen; Keith Trahan and Shannon Manis -- teacher; Grace Derenberger; Chris Conn -- teacher, Adell Chase; Bradon

Hardisty -- teacher, Barbara Gregory; Scott McGehee -- Debbie Osborn; Lindsy Marsiglia -- teacher, Kim Gardner; Christina Boussy -- teacher, Peggy Higgs; Evan Hartranft -- teacher, Ruth Barth; Spencer Wells -- teacher, Ilene Levin; Christin Richey -- teacher, Rachel Janney; Alex Crotts -- teacher, Mary Ann Nolting and Felice Essex -- teacher, Nancy Mosedale.

Library program

Librarian Stacey Freedman is coordinating a program of music and movement activities about sports and games, "Junior Olympics," for children 4 to 6.

Registration for the East Columbia library Wednesday program may be conducted in person or by phone, 313-7750.

Pub Date: 7/16/96

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.