Men's doubles champs make history Woodforde, Woodbridge take fourth straight title

Wimbledon

July 07, 1996|By Sandra McKee | Sandra McKee,SUN STAFF

WIMBLEDON, England -- Back in 1990, when Mark Woodforde's doubles partner John McEnroe announced he wasn't going to play doubles anymore, Woodforde went searching for a younger man with a fierce desire to win.

At the same time, Todd Woodbridge was looking for someone a little older and more experienced, and they happened upon each other.

They lost in the first round of their first tournament.

Yesterday, they made history, becoming the first doubles team in the open era to win four straight men's doubles titles here.

They did it with a 4-6, 6-1, 6-3, 6-2 victory over Byron Black and Grant Connell. The win also put them in the company of H Laurie Doherty and Reggie Doherty as the only doubles teams in Wimbledon history to win four or more consecutive doubles titles. The Dohertys won from 1897 through 1901.

"If you are part of a piece of history, I think that's very, very memorable and that's what we've been shooting for all year," said Woodforde, 30.

Shriver, partner in quarters

Baltimore's Pam Shriver and her partner Pat Galbraith moved into the mixed doubles quarterfinals yesterday with a 6-2, 6-4 victory over Joshua Eagle and Annabel Ellwood.

Because of the rain, Shriver and Galbraith, seeded eighth, won't know until today what team they will face.

Rebeuh revisited

Umpire Bruno Rebeuh, made famous here last year when Jeff Tarango called him a cheater and Tarango's wife, Benedicte, slapped him, was caught in the middle again yesterday when emotions flaired on Centre Court.

It was deuce in the 13th game of the final set between Todd Martin and MaliVai Washington, when the automated machine that makes the service calls, Cyclops, did not signal a Martin served ball being out, but linesman Adam Oakley overruled, saying the ball was long.

Martin went to the chair.

"What happened to Cyclops?" he said, sweating. "Cyclops didn't go off."

Rebeuh said to play a let, but never said he was overruling the linesman, which set off Washington.

"Are you overruling?" asked Washington.

They played it again, said referee Alan Mills, because the line judge does not have the right to overrule Cyclops if it is not malfunctioning.

So, in fact, Rebeuh overruled the linesman's overrule, and correctly called for the point to be replayed.

Martin served an ace and held at 7-6. And then the rain came, giving Washington time to cool off.

Pub Date: 7/07/96

Baltimore Sun Articles
|
|
|
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.