Nominations sought for Hollmann Award Panel looking for community leader in environmental education

July 07, 1996|By Jal Mehta | Jal Mehta,SUN STAFF

A local environmental committee is asking the community to help select a person or group that has made the county a better place to live to receive the second annual Jan Hollmann Award.

The award is intended for someone who "has made a significant contribution to environmental education," said L. Eugene Cronin, a member of the committee and former chairman of the Severn River Commission.

Hollmann was one of Anne Arundel County's foremost environmental activists before her death from cancer in 1990.

Last year, the committee chose former Democratic state Sen. Gerald W. Winegrad, who was hailed as the environmental conscience of the legislature.

But this year, the group decided to broaden its field of candidates while encouraging the community to think about contributions made to improving the environment.

"It could go to anyone, a Scout group, a community association, or to a bigger organization like the Chesapeake River Association," said Russell Heyde, coordinator of outdoor education for Anne Arundel County schools and a member of the selection committee.

"I think we are looking probably not at a flash-in-the-pan-type project," said Paul DeRoo, a selection committee member and a teacher-specialist in outdoor education. "We want someone who has some sort of longevity, one that has made a difference in the lives of people."

Hollmann was 44 and had just graduated from the University of Baltimore Law School with a degree in environmental law when she died Hollmann spearheaded the creation of the Severn River Land Trust, served as vice chair of the Severn River Commission, was a member of Maryland Coastal Zone Resources Council and chaired the Maryland Environmental Trust.

"She was a doer," said Cronin. "She showed her own personal gallantry as she overcame cancer, fought her way through law school. We thought her contribution should be rewarded."

Those who wish to nominate candidates may obtain forms by calling Heyde at 222-3822. The completed forms should be returned by July 15.

The award will be presented at Arlington Echo, the county school system's outdoor education center in Millersville, on Sept. 22.

Pub Date: 7/07/96

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.