Elkridge Days Carnival gives groups chance to raise funds


July 01, 1996|By Jean Leslie | Jean Leslie,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

WEDNESDAY NIGHT at the Elkridge Days Carnival: It was SuperFresh Night at the Elkridge Youth Organization Dunking Booth. "Dunk Your Favorite Associate," taunted the handwritten poster on the booth, where a dripping wet, still-smiling young man sat as children did their best to unseat him.

Grace Episcopal Church was selling pit beef. The Evening Quilters Group was hawking raffle tickets for a quilt. Elkridge merchants displayed antiques, while the Kiwanis Club sold snowballs and Elkridge wall hangings.

Elkridge Elementary sold Elkridge Landing T-shirts and school yearbooks. The volunteer firefighters photographed fair-goers in a fire engine for $5, proceeds to go toward replacing Squad 1, which was destroyed in a March accident.

So while my eighth-grader, Sam, rode the rides with his cousin Zach Timm, I spent a beautiful summer evening meeting my Elkridge neighbors -- Jerry and Charlotte Loiselle, Molly Gardner, Alan and Carol Bateman, Judy Peddicord, Ginny Stickles -- who were serving their organizations.

Historic Trails

Boy Scout Troop 944 of Ellicott City completed the Railroad Segment of the Baltimore Historic Trails on May 25.

The hike began with a tour of Camden Yards and wound past historical sites in Baltimore, concluding with a visit to B&O Railroad Museum.

At the museum, the Scouts visited a place which most tourists do not see -- the workshop, where one of Troop 944's Eagle candidates, Geoff Blain, is refinishing a boxcar for the B&O Museum.

Geoff and his crew stopped sanding long enough to explain the history of the car and the details of his project.

The Scouts on the hike included Andrew Cardoni, Mike Cermatori, Chris Hollenback, Andrew Lohr, Charles Lohr, Sean Oliver, Erik Reichenbach, Garrett Ryan, Amanda Saunders, Mike Saunders, Matt Somers, Mark Trexler, Ben Will and Brandon Wood.

Adults in tow were Kenny Farmer, Shawn Lane, David Lohr, Mary Lohr, Steve Oliver, Angela Ryan, Bill Saunders, Leslie Somers, Paul Trexler, Mike Will and Kathy Wood.

Youth Sunday

First Lutheran Church of Ellicott City celebrated Youth Sunday this year as members in middle and high school took over many of the church positions during the 9: 30 a.m. service.

Ushers Doug Drewyer, Kelly Brzezinski, Amanda Appler, Laura Plitt and Andrew French greeted parishioners and passed the offering plate.

Scripture lessons were read by Erica Burr and Veronica Burr. Lay assistant Meredith Lovell helped to serve Communion.

"Pastors" Karen Beck, Maggie Sherr and Beth Lydard presented a sermon in the form of a skit on the relationship of the Creation and the Gospel, with the help of Peter Schoenbrodt and Jessica Sheer and by real pastors Glenn Ludwig and Bob Lewis.

Mount Hebron graduation

Mount Hebron High School held its graduation ceremony on May 31 at Merriweather Post Pavilion.

Student speakers at the occasion included Natalie Joy Johnson, Melissa Lynn Cook, Amy Therese Gorman, Kristin Midura and Shaun Michael Konig. Andy Barth of WMAR-TV gave the address.

Thanks to commencement coordinator Kelly Borowski and class adviser Ginger Fitzpatrick for their hard work in creating the successful event.

Dae Young Hong leads in perfect attendance, having come to school every day for 13 years -- since kindergarten.

Kwang Min Jung and Jae Yong Park each had perfect attendance for eight years. Alexander Eric Wissel had perfect attendance for seven years and Nicholas Eric Wissel had perfect attendance for six years.

Christina May Chin, Todd Richard Eckhard, Anthony William Mansolillo and Gino Molfino never missed a day for the four years of high school. Joseph Hwang and Phuong Thi Kha attended school every day for three years, and Mark Damrongsri and Kyong Soo Song never missed school for two years.

Memorial scholarships were awarded. Jacob Herschel France II won the Allen Byron Memorial Scholarship; Emily Elizabeth Phillips won the Jeffrey Koppenhoefer Memorial and Lawrence T. Wolfrom Memorial scholarships; and David Phillip Jaeger was awarded the Skip Link Memorial Scholarship.

Each academic department chose an award-winning student. Gino Molfino was honored for art, Jeremy Aaron Feldman for business, Daniel Schick and Patrick Coakley Winkelmen for English, Karen Marie Beck for foreign languages, Jeremy Desor for mathematics, Tracy Lynn DePuy for instrumental music, Myung Shin Bang for vocal music, Heather Marie Cole and

Steven Scott for physical education, Maria Arafiles for science and Brigitte Goss for social studies.

The Bill Straehle Unsung Hero Award, given to a diligent worker who exhibits high standards of character, was awarded to Jennifer Pari Parandian.

St. John's contests

While most of us wait to see Olympics 1996, students in St. John's Lane Elementary School made the contests come alive on June 5 and 6.

Children tested their agility, endurance and ability to laugh, then cooled off with snowballs, courtesy of the PTA.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.