Economic Development Commission amends term limits


The county's Economic Development Commission amended its bylaws this week, allowing members who have completed three consecutive two-year terms to remain on the commission without having to take a year off.

Five members were scheduled to rotate off the 29-member commission this month, but two of them -- Paul Denton of Maryland Midland Railway and Charles J. Miller Jr. of C. J. Miller Inc. -- are in the middle of important projects and need to remain on the commission for the sake of continuity, John T. Lyburn, the county's development director, told the commission.

Lyburn suggested that the bylaws be amended to allow anyone who has served six years on the commission to be reappointed to successive one-year terms.

After changing the bylaws, the commission recommended a slate of nominees to the County Commissioners for appointment.

Denton and Miller were included among the nominees. Each was recommended for a one-year term that will expire June 30, 1997.

Terms of nominees appointed to two-year terms will expire June 30, 1998.

Four of the nominees for two-year terms are newcomers.

They are: Sue Chambers of Strouse Corp., Jack Gambatese of Random House, Pat Kotten of 3M and Ram Javia of Unigen Pharmaceutical.

Six nominees now serve on the commission and would be reappointments.

They are: Bob Bischofsberger of Northrop Grumman, Vincent Campanella of Campanella & Associates, Dana Caro of F&M Manufacturing, Donora Dingman of Bell Atlantic, Marjorie Lohnes of the county Board of Education and Melvin Mills of Mills Communications.

Matt Candland and Neil Ridgely, town managers of Sykesville and Hampstead, respectively, were nominated by the Maryland Municipal League.

Three members -- Glenn Bair of Development Co. of America, Dale Chambers of Strouse Corp. and Jack Tevis of S.H. Tevis & Son Inc. -- rotated off the commission.

Pub Date: 6/28/96

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.