Longfellow neighborhood marks the Fourth quite independently


June 26, 1996|By Liz Lean | Liz Lean,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

THE SOLEMN, the stuffy and the self-promoting should stay home, but all others will be welcome July 4 at the Longfellow Friends of the Traditional Fourth parade and softball game.

This west Columbia neighborhood has been celebrating Independence Day with an independent spirit for 26 years, said Bob Russell, who organizes the event by keeping organization to a minimum.

"There's no form to fill out, no place to register. Just show up" at Longfellow Elementary School for the 9 a.m. lineup, Russell said.

Anyone can walk, ride, skate, pedal or pogo in the parade, except "officially participating politicians." They may participate unofficially, he said.

The Columbia Pro Cantare will sing the national anthem at 10 a.m. The parade will "proceed in a disorderly fashion" north on Hesperus Drive then south on Eliot's Oak Road before returning to the school, Russell said.

The winner of the Longfellow Good Neighbor Award will be announced that morning.

The softball game between the Eliot's Oak Nuts, coached by Brenda Boos, and the Hesperus Wrecks, coached by Joe Mazalewski, begins at noon near the water tower behind the Harper's Choice Village Center. Players must be 16 or older, Russell said. A children's softball game will be played concurrently.

In keeping with the spirit of the event, the rain date is July 3.

Russell is assisted by a committee that includes Jon and Gloria Files, Dottie and Jim Binkley, Mary and Lyle Linden, Lou Berman, Linda and Rich Merrill, Rhea Hammell, Tom and Kathy Mann and Bob Shinskie.

Community fund-raisers

Two members of the Kittamaqundi Community raised nearly $2,600 to help homeless families by participating in last month's For Love of Children Walk in Washington.

Pam Henry and Marie Mayor rounded up $1,284 in pledges from community members. That amount was matched by the church's outreach fund.

Kittamaqundi Community worships at Oliver's Carriage House in Town Center.

Swansfield Elementary PTA

The newly elected officers of Swansfield Elementary School's PTA are: Jane Holcomb, president; Anne Rogers, first vice president; Janet Oken, second vice president.

Laura Johnson is treasurer, Loretta Ramseur is recording secretary and Kathy Nevin is corresponding secretary.

Family Bingo

Family Night Bingo returns to the Hawthorn Center in Hickory Ridge from 7: 30 p.m. to 9 p.m. Friday.

Village manager Jane Parrish has announced a price increase after 12 years of bingo stability. A pack of six cards now costs $1. Drinks remain 50 cents, and snacks are free. Parrish promises "a loud, rowdy and still pretty cheap evening."

Class of 1996

Members of Wilde Lake High School's Class of 1996 have earned dozens of awards for leadership, artistic achievement and academic excellence.

The top 5 percent of the class was honored at the May 28 graduation. Those students are Elaine Cheong, Alexandra Roe, Michelle Dvoskin, Karyn Entrop, Katherine Douglas, Jennifer Driscoll, Lanssa Gvozdovskaia, Deborah Brown, Eboni Evans, Faisal Hasan and John Sang-Hyun Kim.

The Principal's Leadership Award went to Roe. Douglas received the Wilde Lake Faculty Award.

Roe won the Roger Dean Parish Memorial Scholarship. The Pakema Cokley Memorial Scholarship went to Island Pierre. Stephen Tan won the Lawrence Bewley Leadership Award.

Students winning awards from academic departments included Rajeev Adlakha, commended music, merit social studies and merit mathematics; Daniel Bendor, mathematics book award; Melissa Blady, commended art; Adam Boyer, commended journalism; Onike Bright, commended social studies; Michael Caloia, best actor; and Elaine Cheong, commended music, merit science and merit English.

The names of more Wilde Lake award-winners will appear next week.

Pub Date: 6/26/96

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.