Archbishop Keough Council of K of C elects Riggs

June 18, 1996|By Vicki Wellford | Vicki Wellford,Special to the Sun

GEORGE RIGGS was elected grand knight of the Archbishop Francis P. Keough Council of the Knights of Columbus during the annual election of officers June 12.

He takes office July 1, along with 11 others. They are Timothy Geary, deputy grand knight; Les Hiett, chancellor; Kevin Bailey, warden; Dennis Fawson, recorder; Michael Janson, advocate; Thomas Bresnahan, treasurer; Patrick Ferguson, inside guard; George Price, outside guard; and trustees Mark Conroy, Joseph Snook and David Wallace. Edward Wyrwas was re-elected financial secretary.

The Rev. John Harrison, C.Ss.R, pastor, St. Joseph's Catholic Church in Odenton will continue as chaplain.

The Maryland State Deputy has appointed William Smith as district deputy, and Joseph Hundley will be district warden.

A few days after the election, the council mourned the death of its founder, Sir Knight Joseph Sweeney.

The council meets every second and fourth Wednesday in the council home on Becknel Avenue.

Traditional American tales

Storyteller Jon Spellman will be spinning tales at 1: 30 p.m. and 3 p.m. Monday at the Odenton Branch library as part of the 1996 Summer Reading Program. A teller of traditional American stories, Spellman is widely regarded as one of the country's leading storytellers.

In addition, Professional magician Michael Chamberlin will return to the summer reading program. This summer, he will perform new tricks with Olympic and Fourth of July themes. Since his first professional performance in 1981, he has appeared more than 1,000 times for many groups, including the French National Embassy and the Boy Scouts of America. Michael will perform at 2 p.m. Wednesday at the Maryland City branch and at 3 p.m. and 7 p.m. Monday at the Crofton branch.

Both performances are free.

Pub Date: 6/18/96

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.