Dorsey family member restoring Brick House


June 03, 1996|By Jean Leslie | Jean Leslie,SUN STAFF

NED ROGERS, a Dorsey relative, is in the midst of restoring the Dorsey home, the Brick House on U.S. 40.

Rogers has completed the mountain of paperwork to have the home placed on the National Register of Historic Places and is restoring the home for his residence.

Previously owned by the now-deceased Lassotovitch family, the house was distinguished by its large grape arbor.

"My motivation is to show people that historical restoration can be done and that it can be profitable," Rogers said of his plan to retain several acres, using the profits from the sale of additional land for the expense of rebuilding the property.

First Lutheran doings

First Lutheran Church honored six of its 50-year members, each of whom received a carnation during the 11 a.m. service May 19.

The seniors recognized were Eleanor Thompson, Irene Robison, Helen Tyler, Merle Robison, Charlotte Myers and Donald Miller.

In addition, Marie Hobson has been a member for 76 years.

Earlier that day, lay members and Joy Nehmsman were commissioned as Stephen Ministers. They join the church's 16 active Stephen Ministers, who provide care to those experiencing a wide range of life needs or crises. Associate minister Audrey Forbes directs the program.

The congregation recently enjoyed a presentation of the play "The Moses Message," written by senior pastor Glenn Ludwig. The musical was a culmination of a year's work by students enrolled in the church's weekly First Lutheran After School Happening (FLASH) program. It was a joint labor by the church's staff and parishioners. The Christian Critter, the church's puppet ministry directed by Tom Brznewski, made an appearance. Stella Ludwig and director of music Jonathan Setzer directed the play.

Pastor Bob Lewis supervises the FLASH program. It involves children from prekindergarten through fifth grade in the church's Youth Choirs.

Musical trip

On May 18, Patapsco Middle School's Wind Ensemble and Jazz Ensemble traveled to Hershey, Pa., for the Music in the Parks Festival. Patapsco students were awarded first prize with a superior rating for both the Jazz Ensemble and Wind Ensemble; a judge's choice for overall excellence for the Wind Ensemble; and a solo award for Matt Miller of the Jazz Ensemble.

Students who participated include Chris Adkins, Paul Brown, Michael Bruns, Nathan Green, Ki-Hyun Kim, Philip Balbueana, Meghan Day, Mark Milner, Nathaniel Waddell, Emma Jensen, Ginny Goodwin, Jamie Hilliard, Kaytee Hinkle, Laura Hoffman, Mary Ann Jun, Nick Hoffner, Katie Johns, Liz Orndorff, Chris Maruyama, Donald Mackey, Michael Fess-Hatcion, Paul Folkemer, Robert Hudson, Sarah Hudson, Ben Lindahl, Matt English, Adam English, Dan Fisher, Justin Grugeon, David Maskeroni, Matt Miller, Zachary McMenamin, Bobbie Macheel, Dean DeDios, James Watson, Julie Broden, David Choi, Maria-Luiza Cortes, Shawn Doyle, Jon Machiran, Stephanie Moller, Hallie Aarron, Kara Blackburn, Beth Hicks, Jenny Lam, Amanda Lantz, Stephanie Schindhelm, Carrik Bastany-Gaumitz, Zack Wendal, Vanetha Gopal, Kristin Carpenter, Lauren Vanderland, Paul Norko, Hetal Patel, Dana Rones, Cori Wetherald, Chad Zimmerman and Dana Zimmerman..

Robert Chamberlain is the band director.

Condolences to family

Many Ellicott City residents, Catholic and non-Catholic, remember the contributions of the Rev. Nicholas Dohoney of St. Paul's Roman Catholic Church, who served our community for more than 23 years. Father Donohey, who had retired to Heartlands Retirement Community, died last week at age 85. We extend our condolences to his church family.

Bull roast

Heartland Retirement Community announces its annual oyster and bull roast, to be held from 3 p.m. to 7 p.m. Sunday.

Tickets cost $20 or $10 for children under age 12. Children under age 5 are admitted free. Profits will benefit the residents' charity fund.

Information: (410) 461-9494.

Pub Date: 6/03/96

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.